Skip to main content

Class Visits to Special Collections @ Pitt

This guide will provide information to Faculty about what is possible in teaching with Special Collections and scheduling class visits to the department.

Instruction Support

Liaison librarians provide a communication link between the University Library System and University departments and programs. Liaisons have in-depth expertise in retrieving, evaluating, and managing information in these subject areas.

Liaison librarians are available to:

• make presentations to departments or courses regarding library programs, resources, and services.
• incorporate library and information management skills into the curriculum;
• provide instruction on the use of online information resources;
• identify and evaluate subject specific Web sites;
• collaborate on research projects or grants;
• perform professional-level literature searches;
• review and validate your search strategies;
• answer questions about library collections, remote access, or document delivery;
• consult one-on-one on in-depth or specialized topics.

The University Library System offers services to digitize material from the library's archives and special collection holdings, and making that material available on the Web for global and open access.  The Digital Research Library (DRL) has a range of scanners and staff able to digitize photographs, maps, books, artwork, manuscripts, ephemera (such as postcards and flyers), newspapers, music scores, and lots of other material!  The DRL is happy to work with faculty at Pitt who have digitization needs for research or are looking to make digitized primary sources available to their students.  

The staff in the Special Collections Department or the Archives Service Center are happy to facilitate any scanning requests.  To learn more about Pitt's D-Scribe digital publishing program, visit: http://www.library.pitt.edu/dscribe

                                                

 

The University of Pittsburgh University Library System has implemented a new way to organize and showcase library resources and services available to Pitt faculty and students for research and study.

LibGuides are a content management and information sharing system designed specifically for libraries. The platform allows for easy navigation through and instruction on core and relevant resources in a particular subject field, class, or assignment.

Furthermore, this platform effectively invites collaboration between librarians and instructors to meet the research needs of a particular department, class, or assignment.

                                                               

It is possible to bring non-circulating materials from several ULS libraries together in one place for you to use.  Request to consult with non-circulating materials including rare books, special collections, manuscripts, archives, and journals in the staff-monitored reading room of your choice.  Non-circulating materials (including non-circulating books from the Regional campus libraries) may be used in the Special Collections Department in Hillman Library, Archives Service Center in Point Breeze, Reference Reading Room in the Fine Arts Library, or the Center for  American Music in the Stephen Foster Building.  

                                        

 

Faculty and researchers may request that non-circulating materials that are frequently consulted be placed on reserve in the Special Collections Department Reading Room to facilitate access.  Special Collections can hold materials in the reading room for students to use throughout the semester and are usually filed by the faculty member's or researcher's last name.  Please ask a staff member for assistance.

                                                                             

Digital scholarship includes the use of digital tools, data, methods, authoring, publishing, and stewardship to support teaching and research and is an emerging, interdisciplinary movement which looks to enhance and to redefine traditional humanities scholarship through digital means.

Here is an example of a project the Digital Scholarship department did in collaboration with professor Amy Murray Twyning's course on Charles Dickens' Bleak House: http://bleakhouse360.weebly.com/

If you would like to learn more, please contact Special Collections.

Loading ...