Guides: Pitt and Community Assistance Resources: Home

Welcome

This guide is provided by the University Library System in partnership with campus colleagues in support of basic needs. It is intended to provided links to resources and options for services to explore. We do not provide medical or legal support. Please note that these links do not imply endorsement and are provided for informational purposes only.

For immediate or emergency assistance:

In a life-threatening emergency, call 911 immediately.
In a crisis situation, at any time of the day or night, you can reach a trained professional through the University Counseling Center’s 24/7 hotline (412-648-7930 ) or through the resolve Crisis Services (1-888-796-8226).
In addition, the National Suicide Prevention Lifeline provides support 24/7 by calling 988. (988 Healthline is available via Call, Text, Chat, and TTY)

Care and Resource Support

Care Managers
Care Managers are a centralized case management team that educates and connects students to a variety of campus and community resources to help them meet their needs. Students can refer themselves or be referred by faculty, staff, or a peer.
Pittsburgh Campus- Care Referral Form
The purpose of a Care Referral is to assist students in navigating challenging or unexpected issues that impact their wellbeing, academic success, and the campus community.
Pitt Pantry
The Pitt Pantry serves to increase food security among the Pitt community. Students (graduate & undergraduate), faculty, and staff are encouraged to visit the Pitt Pantry to supplement their nutrition with healthy foods at no cost.
Thriftsburgh
Thriftsburgh is Pitt’s student-run on-campus thrift store serving students, staff, faculty, and the Pittsburgh community by re-purposing and selling second-hand clothing, shoes, and accessories.

University of Pittsburgh Campus Resources

Hardship Funding and Assistance
Funds supporting Pitt students experiencing financial hardship including Pitt Student Insurance Medical Hardship Assistance Fund, Meal Assistance, and Tenant’s Rights.
Frederick Honors College (FHC) Student Emergency Assistance Fund
An emergency fund specifically for students in the Honors College for unexpected costs (e.g., technology repair, food insecurity, transportation).
PittFund$Me
Current students and new incoming students who have committed to Pitt have access to Pitt’s searchable scholarship database, PittFund$Me.
Endowed Book Fund
Provides a grant to students to cover a semester's worth of books from the University of Pittsburgh.
Student Toolkit
Provides links to the academic calendar, academic success workshops, peer tutoring, enrollment resources, and more.
Student Health Insurance and Employment
Provides students with access to job opportunities on campus and information about health service coverage plans.
Office of Admissions and Financial Aid
Provides information and services related to financial aid and scholarships.

Provides links for filing the Free Application for Federal Student Aid (FAFSA).
Financial Wellness
Provides money lessons to navigate through college and beyond. Goal of empowering students with the knowledge and tools to make informed financial decisions and accomplish their financial goals for a lifetime.
University Counseling Center
The UCC provides services to support your well-being, which include, but not limited to, Self-Help tools, Drop-in and 24/7 support.
Disability Resources and services
412-648-7890
Student Support Services
Provides advising, skills- building workshops, leadership training, and academic tutoring as well as lots of fun social outings and activities helping first-generation and low-income students to make the most of their time at Pitt.
University Student Health Service
Provides clinical and counseling services to students.
Graduate Student Resources
Provides links to wellness resources for graduate and professional students.
Campus Police Non-Emergency Number
412-624-4040
On-Campus Emergencies (24/7)
412-624-2121
Employee Emergency Fund
Limited financial assistance for eligible employees facing an immediate and substantial financial need.

University of Pittsburgh Library System

Course & Subject Guides

Pitt and Community Assistance Resources

Thrive @ Pitt

Resource Guide Additions

Welcome

Care and Resource Support

University of Pittsburgh Campus Resources