Guides: United States Census Information @ Pitt: Historical Census Data

Historical Census Sources

Historical Statistics of the United States This link opens in a new window
(Pitt users only) Presents mainly US census data for the nation as a whole, such as immigration statistics by country of origin or mortality rates by disease, ranging back to the 1800s.

Census of Population and Housing (Decennial Census) - Census Bureau
Available from the U.S. Census Bureau, these are PDF versions of the printed volumes.
Census of Population and Housing (Decennial Census) - IPUMS USA
Available from IPUMS USA, these are PDF versions of the printed volumes. Contains much of the same content as the Census Bureau link above, but is organized into smaller files.
Census Questions Through The Years
Index of questions asked by each Decennial Census.
Measuring America: The Decennial Censuses From 1790 to 2000
(PDF Download) Provides census questionnaires and instructions for decennial censuses from 1790-2000. It also provides an in-depth history of the decennial censuses from 1790 to 2000 and offers individual histories of the U.S. Census.
ICPSR
(Pitt users only) For raw data from 1790 to 1970, historical Census information can be downloaded from the Inter-University Consortium for Political and Social Research (ICPSR).

Statistical Abstract of the United States (2013-present)
(Pitt users only) Now published by ProQuest, it provides almost all of the same information as the editions published by the Census.
Statistical Abstract of the United States (1878-2012)
This important work was published between 1878 and 2012 by the Census Bureau. It provides authoritative and comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic organization of the United States.
County Business Patterns
This title is an annual series that provides substantial economic data by industry. The series is useful for studying the economic activity of small areas; analyzing economic changes over time; and as a benchmark for statistical series, surveys, and databases between economic censuses.

Dubester's U. S. Census Bibliography with Sudocs Class Numbers and Indexes by Kevin L. Cook
Call Number: Z7553 C3C66 1996
ISBN: 1563082950
Publication Date: 1996-04-01
(Located in the First Floor Reference Section) Intended to increase the usefulness of Henry J. Dubester's standard bibliography of historical U.S. census publications (Catalog of United States Census Publications, 1790-1945), this work adds a section of supplemental entries (including SuDocs classification numbers) to the original bibliography and subject index.