Reading & Literacy - Education Research Guide - Johnstown Campus

Literacy Resources

Carol Hurst's Children's Literature Site
Provides a collection of many great books for children and offers ideas on ways to incorporate them into the classroom. Also includes suggestions for activities on subjects by curriculum area and professional resources.
Children's Literature Web Guide
From David K. Brown (University of Calgary), this is a very useful web site on children's literature. It is searchable by keyword or browsable by topic.
International Reading Association
This site provides a variety of useful resources, including an electronic journal Reading Online. Keyword searchable.
Literacy Information and Communication System
LINCS is a national dissemination and professional development system, providing information on literacy research, practice, and resources.
We Need Diverse Books
A non-profit and a grassroots organization of children’s book lovers that advocates essential changes in the publishing industry to produce and promote literature that reflects and honors the lives of all young people.

Pennsylvania Center for the Book

Hosted by Penn State University Libraries, the PA Center for the Book "provides avenues of exploration into the world of Pennsylvania writing."

Their web site includes a variety of activities, programs, contests, and lessons all featuring or relating to Pennsylvania writers. It also houses an informative, interactive map on the literary and cultural heritage of Pennsylvania.

Pennsylvania Center for the Book

University of Pittsburgh Library System

Course & Subject Guides

Education Research Guide - Johnstown Campus

Education Librarian

Literacy Resources

Pennsylvania Center for the Book