Finding Articles - Education Research Guide - Johnstown Campus

Education Databases

These databases contain in-depth articles and information on this subject.

Academic Video Online This link opens in a new window
Academic Video Online allows users to cross-search all of the video published by Alexander Street Press. Virtually every video in the collection is fully transcribed in addition to being indexed for subjects, people, places, release date, language, publisher, and video type. NOTE: There are no restrictions on simultaneous users for Alexander Street Press Academic Video Online content. The vendor ProQuest advises that content can be shared on Zoom as long as you are not charging admission.
Annual Reviews This link opens in a new window
Annual Reviews publications are among the most highly cited in the scientific literature, and are available in print and online to individuals, institutions, and consortia throughout the world.
APA PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
PsycINFO provides indexing coverage of all document types, including journal articles, book chapters, books, dissertations, and technical reports. The database is international in scope.
Cambridge University Press This link opens in a new window
Cambridge University Press dates from 1534 and is the publishing business of the University of Cambridge. Their purpose is to further the University's objective of advancing learning, knowledge and research.
Carnegie Classification of Institutions of Higher Education This link opens in a new window
The Carnegie Classification of Institutions of Higher Education is the leading typology of American colleges and universities. It is the framework in which institutional diversity in U.S. higher education is commonly described.
Children's Core Collection This link opens in a new window
This rich resource covers fiction and nonfiction works, story collections, picture books and magazines recommended for readers in preschool through sixth grade. Professional literature for the children's librarian—both periodicals and books—is also covered. Selected and recommended by collection development specialists, books within Children’s Core Collection encompass a wide variety of topics, including social sciences, science, math and reading.
Choice Reviews This link opens in a new window
Choice Reviews is directed toward academic librarians and faculty as a resource for collection development and scholarly research. It covers more than 50 sub-disciplines spanning the humanities, science and technology, and the social and behavioral sciences.
Digital Theatre Plus This link opens in a new window
Provides online access to a digital streaming video collection of unique films of current, leading British theatre productions. Includes behind-the-scenes documentaries as well as teaching and learning resources to facilitate a deeper understanding of the productions and texts. Learning resources include a detailed introduction, plot summary, character biographies, a relationship map, language analysis, scene study, performance background and historical context for each play.

Users must have the latest version of Google Chrome to access.
Dissertations and Theses (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
With more than 2.3 million entries, PQDT is the database of record for doctoral dissertations and master's theses. The database represents the work of authors from over 1,000 graduate schools and universities in North America and from around the globe. Over 60,000 new dissertations and theses are added to the database each year.
Education in Video This link opens in a new window
Education in Video is the first online collection of streaming video developed specifically for training and developing teachers. Upon completion, the collection will contain more than 1,000 video titles totaling 750 hours.
ERIC (Education Resources Information Center) via EBSCO This link opens in a new window
ERIC, sponsored by the US Department of Education, is the premier national bibliographic database of education literature. ERIC consists of two files: Resources in Education and Current Index. The database also includes the full text of ERIC Digest Records. Ebsco and CSA are subscription services that offer sophisticated interfaces. The third option is to search the database via the government's web portal.
IngentaConnect This link opens in a new window
Publishing Technology is the largest supplier of technology and related services for the publishing industry. Working with eight of the ten largest publishers in the world, we help information providers meet their evolving and wide-ranging publishing needs.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR (Journal Storage) is a digital library that provides online access to academic journals, books, and primary sources in the arts, humanities, and social sciences. It is a trusted source for scholarly research and provides access to over 6,000 academic journals, more than 2 million images, and over a thousand books. The platform has a user-friendly interface that makes it easy to search and access high-quality, peer-reviewed content. JSTOR also features advanced tools for research and discovery, including citation analysis and alerts for new content. It is a valuable resource for scholars, students, and researchers in the academic community.
Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts This link opens in a new window
The definitive database on the nature and use of language, Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts, from Cambridge Scientific Abstracts, covers three fundamental areas: research in linguistics, research in language, and research in speech, language, and hearing pathology.
Mental Measurements Yearbook This link opens in a new window
Produced by the Buros Institute of Mental Measurements at the University of Nebraska, the Mental Measurements Yearbook™ (MMY) provides users with a comprehensive guide to over 2,700 contemporary testing instruments.
Oxford Bibliographies Online This link opens in a new window
Bibliography of topics in childhood studies
Oxford University Press (OUP) - Electronic Journals This link opens in a new window
Database publishes well over 230 academic and research journals covering a broad range of subject areas, two-thirds of which are published in collaboration with learned societies and other international organizations.
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
Access to over 380 humanities and social sciences journals from over 60 scholarly publishers.
Sage Ereference This link opens in a new window
A database of 47 reference books published by SAGE covering the social sciences and education.
SocINDEX This link opens in a new window
SocINDEX is a comprehensive sociology database featuring citations with subject headings from a sociology specific thesaurus. It contains informative abstracts for more than 590 core journals dating back to 1985.
SpringerLink This link opens in a new window
SpringerLink is an integrated full-text database for journals and books published by Springer
Teaching Channel This link opens in a new window
Teaching Channel is a one-stop shop for teacher learning and development, from Learners Edge graduate-level courses and professional development programs, to our innovative video platform for self-reflection, coaching and calibration. Teaching Channel also offers loads of free resources for teachers in their new K12 Hub.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Web of Science provides access to Science Citation Index, Social Science Citation Index, and Arts and Humanities Citation Index.
WorldCat This link opens in a new window
The WorldCat database is the OCLC Online Union Catalog. It contains more than 450 million records in 484 languages describing items owned by our libraries or 10,000 other libraries around the world.

Help with Article Delivery Request

Request Article Delivery Script

Request Material

You can request material through PittCat using Get It, even for material that we do not own. You must be signed in, then click on the item you need to see the full menu of options available.

Use 'Request' to receive print materials from a Pitt library or ULS - Thomas Blvd.

To make a request:

Sign into your account in PittCat
Find the item you want and click on the title
Look for the Get It, Request options for the title.
Follow the on-screen options to request your item
You will be notified via your Pitt email address when the item is available

Additional questions? Please contact us so we can work with you to try and get the material you need.

You can request material through PittCat using Get It, even for material that we do not own. You must be signed in, then click on the item you need to see the full menu of options available.

Use 'Request' to receive a scanned book chapter or an article from print material.

To make a request:

Sign into your account in PittCat
Find the item you want and click on the title
Look for the Get It, Request options for the title.
Follow the on-screen options to request your item
You will be notified via your Pitt email address when the item is available

Additional questions? Please contact us so we can work with you to try and get the material you need.

If you identify an item in PittCat that is not available through our collections, or if PittCat indicates that we have access to an item in error, you can request it through our Interlibrary Loan (ILL) service.

ILL services are available to Pitt students, staff and faculty with a valid Pitt ID and Pitt computing account

• Articles can be downloadable from your list of requests

• Loan periods and renewals vary depending on the lending institution

• A one-time user registration is required before making an ILL request. You will not need to re-enter personal information every time you make a request

More Information

Additional Questions? Please contact us so we can work with you to try and get the material you need.

University of Pittsburgh Library System

Course & Subject Guides

Education Research Guide - Johnstown Campus

Help with Journal Finder

Finding Full-Text with Google Scholar

Education Librarian

Education Databases

Help with Article Delivery Request

Request Material