Finding Books - Communication Capstone - Greensburg Campus

Books About Communication

The Pitt libraries have many titles in the field of communication, both print and online. Narrow your topic to find resources specifically related to your research; for example, mass media. Use Get It to order materials from other Pitt campuses.

Communication research: strategies and sources by Rubin, Rebecca
This text for communication research is designed to help students learn how to successfully use literature and other sources in writing effective papers and to strategize, develop and complete communication research, placing special emphasis on using library resources to search for literature.
Critical theories of mass media by Taylor, Paul A.
With the exception of occasional moral panics about the coarsening of public discourse, and the impact of advertising and television violence upon children, mass media tend to be viewed as a largely neutral or benign part of contemporary life. Even when criticisms are voiced, the media chooses how and when to discuss its own inadequacies. More radical external critiques are often excluded...
Dictionary of mass communication & media research by Demers, David
The Dictionary of Mass Communication and Media Research provides comprehensive definitions of major concepts pertaining to the seven major traditional mass media (books, newspapers, magazines, television, radio, motion pictures, recording industry), the Internet, supporting industries (advertising and public relations), media law and ethics, media issues (e.g., global mass media, media concentration), and media research (effects and processes).
A Handbook of Media and Communication Research by Klaus Bruhn Jensen
Call Number: ebook
ISBN: 1138492922
Publication Date: 2021-02-01
Thoroughly revised and updated, this third edition integrates perspectives from the social sciences and the humanities, focusing on methodology as a strategic level of analysis that joins practical applications with theoretical issues.
Mass Communication Theories by Melvin L. DeFleur; Margaret H. DeFleur
Call Number: ebook
ISBN: 1000576531
Publication Date: 2022-05-02
The second edition of this innovative textbook provides a comprehensive overview of mass communication theories, as well as their origins and empirical supports in psychology, sociology, political science, and philosophy. Each chapter presents a specific theory, describing its basic structure in simple formal terms and providing an accessible summary of the research studies and scholarly writings from which it developed. It breaks each complex theory down into five or six interlinked basic propositions, making them easily digestible for students. This new edition includes up-to-date research; improved coverage of all theories presented; expanded treatments of theories such as cultivation theory, the spiral of silence, and framing; contemporary and social media examples; chapter discussion questions; and informative charts and figures. This textbook serves as an accessible core text for undergraduate and graduate Mass Communication, Communication Theory, and Communication and Society courses.
Principles of Mass Communications by Salem Press
Call Number: Hillman Library - Pittsburgh Campus
ISBN: 1637007485
Publication Date: 2024
This volume introduces students to mass communication, a broad field that encompasses the communication of information to the public through a wide range of mass-media outlets, from print magazines and newspapers to interactive, multimedia-oriented websites and apps. The history of mass communication spans centuries, and changes within that field have often occurred alongside-and at times spurred on-social change, the rise and fall of industries, and shifts in the geopolitical landscape.
Qualitative Methods in Communication and Media by Sandra L. Faulkner; Joshua D. Atkinson
Call Number: ebook
ISBN: 0190944056
Publication Date: 2023-10-24
Qualitative Methods in Media and Communication offers a learning-centered guide to designing, conducting, and evaluating qualitative communication and media research methods.
Qualitative Research Methods for Media Studies by Bonnie S. Brennen
This book introduces the essential qualitative methods used in media research, with an emphasis on integrating theory with practice. Each method is introduced through step-by-step instruction on conducting research and interpreting research findings, alongside in-depth discussions of the historical, cultural, and theoretical context of the particular method and case studies drawn from published scholarship.
Mass Communication Theories by Melvin L. DeFleur; Margaret H. DeFleur
Call Number: ebook
ISBN: 0367538393
Publication Date: 2022-03-01
The second edition of this innovative textbook provides a comprehensive overview of mass communication theories, as well as their origins and empirical supports in psychology, sociology, political science, and philosophy.

PittCat

PittCat is the main searching tool for all of the materials owned by the University Library System (ULS), including articles, books, ebooks, journal articles, ejournals, audio and video, digital images, government documents, microfilm and movies.

PittCat
Access PittCat directly or use the ULS homepage.

Request Material

You can request material through PittCat using Get It, even for material that we do not own. You must be signed in, then click on the item you need to see the full menu of options available.

Use 'Request' to receive print materials from a Pitt library or ULS - Thomas Blvd.

To make a request:

Sign into your account in PittCat
Find the item you want and click on the title
Look for the Get It, Request options for the title.
Follow the on-screen options to request your item
You will be notified via your Pitt email address when the item is available

Additional questions? Please contact us so we can work with you to try and get the material you need.

You can request material through PittCat using Get It, even for material that we do not own. You must be signed in, then click on the item you need to see the full menu of options available.

Use 'Request' to receive a scanned book chapter or an article from print material.

To make a request:

Sign into your account in PittCat
Find the item you want and click on the title
Look for the Get It, Request options for the title.
Follow the on-screen options to request your item
You will be notified via your Pitt email address when the item is available

Additional questions? Please contact us so we can work with you to try and get the material you need.

If you identify an item in PittCat that is not available through our collections, or if PittCat indicates that we have access to an item in error, you can request it through our Interlibrary Loan (ILL) service.

ILL services are available to Pitt students, staff and faculty with a valid Pitt ID and Pitt computing account

• Articles can be downloadable from your list of requests

• Loan periods and renewals vary depending on the lending institution

• A one-time user registration is required before making an ILL request. You will not need to re-enter personal information every time you make a request

More Information

Additional Questions? Please contact us so we can work with you to try and get the material you need.

University of Pittsburgh Library System

Course & Subject Guides

Communication Capstone - Greensburg Campus

Helpful Links

Books About Communication

PittCat

Request Material