This presentation of the Charles R. Martin Photograph Collection represents one series in the collection that contains images taken on April 7, 1968. The images originate from 35mm black and white negatives and document the peace march that occurred in Pittsburgh on the National Day of Mourning three days after the assassination of Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. on April 4, 1968.

Fred Wright, an American labor cartoonist and activist, created thousands of cartoons from 1939-1984 reflecting the politics and labor issues of the day, which were featured in newspapers, union publications, and overseas union activism. Included in this record group are cartoons illustrating the career of Martin Luther King, Jr., his opposition to the Vietnam War, and the intersection of movements for racial equality and workers rights.

These papers document Dick Thornburgh’s life and public service career, including his years as Governor of Pennsylvania, Attorney General of the United States, and Under-Secretary-General of the United Nations, among other notable positions. Included are records documenting the establishment of the national and state Martin Luther Kind Jr. Day in the mid-late 1980s, photographs of MLK Day celebrations, the PA Martin Luther Kind Holiday Commission, activities at the Martin Luther King Center for Nonviolent Social Change Inc. in Philadelphia, and more.

This collection provides photographs and information about Pitt buildings and events, such as commencement and the honors convocation, that are integral parts of the Pitt experience. This includes color photographs of Pitt Stadium showing the National Guard staging for action during the uprising that took place after the assassination of Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. in 1968. These were taken by Dr. David G. Blinky.

Dr. Richard Oestreicher, Associate Professor of History at the University of Pittsburgh, amassed the American Left Ephemera Collection over a 35-year period to document the history of the American Left from the 1890s to the present. The collection includes items from the 1890s to the present including periodicals, photographs, letters, pamphlets, books, posters, flyers, labels, pins and other objects, but it emphasizes ephemeral items (e.g., items made for one time or brief usage and then likely to be discarded). This includes published letters by Martin Luther King Jr., ephemera documenting the movement to establish MLK's birthday as a national holiday, and publications describing the work of MLK as it relates to larger movements to racial and economic equality.

Documenting Pitt provides access to a sampling of many University Archives collections detailing the administrative, academic and athletic pursuits and achievements of the University community. These include records of Martin Luther King Jr.'s visit to the Oakland campus in 1967 and a full two page spread in the 1968 yearbook, documenting his assassination and the response of the University and local community. It also includes records of events held at the University of Pittsburgh in honor of Martin Luther King, Jr. from the 1970s to the early 2000s.

The Morehouse College Martin Luther King, Jr. Collection spans the dates 1900-1970, with the bulk of the material dated between 1944-1968. Materials include correspondence to, from and about Martin Luther King, Jr.; manuscripts of sermons, speeches, articles, reports and other literary production by King and others; organizational documents from Dexter Avenue Baptist Church, Ebenezer Baptist Church, the Montgomery Improvement Association and the Southern Christian Leadership Conference; school papers of Martin Luther King, Jr. from Morehouse College, Crozier Theological Seminary and Boston University; financial and legal documents for the King family; magazines, journals, newspapers and other printed material; photographs; and artwork.

Initiated by The King Center in Atlanta, the Martin Luther King, Jr. Papers Project is one of only a few large-scale research ventures focusing on an African American. Its principal mission is to publish the definitive fourteen-volume edition of The Papers of Martin Luther King, Jr.,a comprehensive collection of King's most significant correspondence, sermons, speeches, published writings, and unpublished manuscripts. The seven already published volumes have become essential reference works for researchers and have influenced scholarship about King and the movements he inspired. Building upon this research foundation, the Project also engages in other related educational activities. Using internet communications technology to reach a diverse global audience, it has greatly increased popular as well as scholarly awareness of King's achievements and visionary ideas.

The Martin Luther King, Jr. collection, donated in 1964, consists of manuscripts, notebooks, correspondence, printed material, financial and legal papers, a small number of photographs and other items dating from 1947 to 1963.

Umbra Search brings together hundreds of thousands digitized materials from over 1,000 libraries and archives across the country documenting African American history. Here you can find photographs, videos, sound, text documents, and photographs of three-dimensional objects documenting Martin Luther King, Jr.'s life and legacy from collections at institutions such as the National Portrait Gallery, Atlanta History Center, Alabama Department of Archives & History, and many more.