Theatre in Video contains numerous performances of the Shakespeare plays, along with interviews and film documentaries, all online in streaming video. Here's a perfomance of King Lear with Sir Laurence Olivier:
Contains hundreds of videos, including documentaries and definitive performances of the world’s most important plays. From celebrated productions of Shakespeare to rare, in-depth footage of the work of Samuel Beckett, the collection covers a wide range of 20th century theatre history. Interviews with directors, designers, writers, and actors, along with excerpts of live performances deliver an authentic, behind-the-scenes look at hundreds of productions.
The Last Decade Of The Twentieth Century proved to be the most fertile in the hundred-year history of Shakespeare on film. Samuel Crowl's study, Shakespeare at the Cineplex, is the first comprehensive critical exploration of the fifteen major Shakespeare films released since the surprising success of Kenneth Branagh's Henry V (1989).
The Global Shakespeares Video & Performance Archive is a collaborative project providing online access to performances of Shakespeare from many parts of the world as well as essays and metadata by scholars and educators in the field.
Theatre in Video contains all of the Playing Shakespeare volumes. John Barton holds a master class in how to play Shakespeare, using members of the RSC doing scenes, sonnets, and commentary as prime examples.
Provides online access to a digital streaming video collection of unique films of current, leading British theatre productions. Includes behind-the-scenes documentaries as well as teaching and learning resources to facilitate a deeper understanding of the productions and texts. Learning resources include a detailed introduction, plot summary, character biographies, a relationship map, language analysis, scene study, performance background and historical context for each play.
Users must have the latest version of Google Chrome to access.