From the Delaware River to the shores of Lake Erie, Pennsylvania's diverse watery habitats are home to more than 200 species of aquatic plants. In Aquatic Plants of Pennsylvania: A Complete Reference Guide, botanists Timothy A. Block and Ann Fowler Rhoads have assembled the first identification guide specific to the Keystone State yet useful throughout the Mid Atlantic region. Organized and written in a way that will make information easily accessible to specialists and nonspecialists alike, the book highlights the diversity and vital ecological importance of this group of plants, providing photographs, illustrations, descriptions, and identification keys for all emergent, floating-leaved, and submergent aquatic plants found in the Commonwealth. An introductory chapter on aquatic plant ecology covers topics such as evolution, form, and reproduction of aquatic plants, vegetation zones, types of aquatic ecosystems, and rare and endangered species. Information on invasive plants, such as Eurasian water-milfoil and curly pondweed, that threaten Pennsylvania's aquatic ecosystems will be especially useful to watershed organizations, citizen monitoring projects, lake managers, and natural resource agency personnel. An illustrated identification key guides the reader through a series of steps to properly identify a specimen based on its characteristics. Each of the more than 200 listings provides a plant's taxonomy, detailed description, distribution map, and expert botanical illustrations. Many also include color photographs of the plants in their natural habitats.

The author of Got Shade? and Go Native! turns out "an ideal primer for gardeners who want to have lovely, sustainable and hospitable plantings" (Moya Andrews, author of Perennials Short and Tall).   Are you looking for more butterflies and birds in your yard? Do you enjoy seasonal color and beauty? Are you concerned about environmental issues such as water conservation and pollution control? Do you yearn for simple, maintenance-free gardening? Arranged in a question-and-answer format, Got Sun? showcases native trees, shrubs, ground covers, ferns, vines, grasses, and over 100 sun-friendly perennials for your home garden. Illustrated with detailed drawings and beautiful color photographs, this is a book to keep close at hand as you plan and plant your garden.

Written by Donald J. Leopold, expert in horticulture, botany, forestry, and ecology. No other single volume on native plants has such comprehensive horticultural coverage as Native Plants of the Northeast: A Guide for Gardening and Conservation. Nearly seven hundred species of native trees, shrubs, vines, ferns, grasses, and wildflowers from the northeastern quarter of the United States and all of eastern Canada are included. Each plant description includes information about cultivation and propagation, ranges, and hardiness. An appendix recommends particular plants for difficult situations, as well as attracting butterflies, hummingbirds, and other wildlife.

Pennsylvania, a state of diverse geography and geology, is rich in flora. The second edition of The Plants of Pennsylvania identifies the nearly 3,400 species of trees, wildflowers, ferns, grasses, sedges, aquatic plants, and weeds native to or naturalized in the Commonwealth. Retaining the clearly written identification keys and descriptions that made the first edition such an essential reference, this new edition has been reorganized to reflect recent advances in our understanding of plant relationships. Families and genera are listed in a sequence determined by current studies of plant molecular genetics, thus providing new insights for the study of botany. In addition, species have been added to the book as a result of new discoveries. The botanical illustrations of Anna Anisko continue to complement the descriptions and add an element of beauty to the volume. Developed in conjunction with the Pennsylvania Flora Project, and compiled by botanists at the Morris Arboretum, the official arboretum of the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania, the second edition of The Plants of Pennsylvania is the authoritative guide to Pennsylvania's plant life. It will be indispensable to taxonomists, conservationists, ecologists, foresters, land planners, teachers, agricultural county agents, students, and amateur naturalists.

Black maples can tower to eighty-five feet. Artisans craft fine musical instruments from the wood of native red spruces. And in autumn, the leaves of sugar maples turn brilliant orange-gloriously coloring Penn's Woods. The naturalist, forester, or weekend observer will discover all this and more in Trees of Pennsylvania. Written by botanists at the Morris Arboretum, the official arboretum of the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania, this is the most comprehensive, authoritative, and accessible field and natural history guide to the state's tree life. Ann Rhoads and Timothy Block cover all of Pennsylvania's 195 trees, both native and naturalized. Each species is described in a concise, tabular format that includes the characteristics of leaves, branches, bark, flowers, and fruits. The authors discuss flowering and fruiting time, autumn leaf color, and the size of the largest specimen recorded within the state. Rhoads and Block further provide valuable historical, ecological, and economic information on each tree species, including how Pennsylvania's trees were used by Native Americans and early European settlers. This fully illustrated, user-friendly volume contains a combination of line drawings by botanical artist Anna Anisko, color photographs, range maps, and identification keys so readers will be able accurately to identify each tree species. It also offers useful information on the biology of trees, the history of Pennsylvania's many forests, and important lists of the endangered, threatened, and rare trees within the state. This is an indispensable guide for anyone interested in Pennsylvania's natural history and tree life.

This book is intended for all who enjoy nature and would like to become acquainted with wildflowers. Since the advent of suburban living, there is much less contact with nature, and inner city living has made many people strangers to the magnificent display of plants the people took for granted in the untouched by modern expansion, and a visit to these areas can be a refreshing experience. A hike in the woods can restore one's feeling of being part of nature. Just as we like to know a person's name, knowing the names of plants gives one a kinship with them.

Wild orchids evoke a particular and sometimes addictive fascination among naturalists, botanists, and wildflower enthusiasts. With few exceptions, these singular plants cannot be moved and propagated successfully, and so, to ensure their survival, they must be protected and sought out in their native habitats. This definitive guide facilitates their discovery and enjoyment. This guide covers all orchids growing wild in New England, New York, and adjacent areas of Pennsylvania and New Jersey. It also includes illustrated keys to the genera and species and a checklist of northeastern orchids. This guide describes in alphabetical order 71 orchid species and varieties, with a drawing of each, and full information on more than 50 forms and hybrids.This guide also features 192 full-color photographs of the orchids in their native habitats, along with 71 distribution maps and suggests where to find the orchids.