"We are giving underrepresented composers a platform to have their music heard. Composers that submit works to … And We Were Heard are matched with top-notch ensembles and engage in collaborative recording sessions. The resulting audio tracks are hosted on our site along with innovative ideas of how to support diverse voices in music."
Afrocentric Voices is a resource about American singers and composers of African descent trained in the classical tradition, and the vocal music forms they influenced. The site features an extensive bibliography, a selection of performer and composer biographies, a chronology, and list of libraries and research centers with collections about and by African American musicians.
This is a collaborative resource that identifies music theory examples according to topic and subtopic by underrepresented or marginalized composers. Links to digitized scores are also included when available.
This is a working list of the non-idiomatic choral music of black composers compiled by Marques L. A. Garrett, an Assistant Professor of Music in Choral Activities at the University of Nebraska-Lincoln in the Glenn Korff School of Music.
This group focuses on the lack of equity in composer representation and programming in concerts. Resources on this site include music by composers who identify as part of the African Diaspora, conversational series with leaders in music organizations, educational materials to introduce African American traditions and music to students.
The Center’s collections promote the music of the African diaspora and include materials covering a variety of idioms in Black music. Search across primary source content created by individuals and musical organizations, including correspondence, scores, oral histories, as well as early recordings (e.g. wax cylinders).
This is an open access collection of scores from the Contemporary Score Edition series. It contains new music and scores from the Kaleidoscope 2020 Call for Scores published in collaboration with the UCLA Music Library.
The Institute promotes the music of historically underrepresented composers through its advocacy work and also by making available the Composer Diversity Database, Works Diversity Database, Choral Diversity Database, orchestra season analysis (2019-2020), bibliographies, and more. Search over 4,000 composers of historically underrepresented genders, racial, ethnic, and cultural heritages, and sexual orientations in the Composer Diversity Database. Search over 1,600 art songs by women; over 2,400 works for large and small wind ensembles; and over 11,000 orchestral works by underrepresented composers in the Works Diversity Database.
The IAWM promotes and fosters the work of women in music. Search the New Music Competition winners to find works in categories, including chamber and orchestral works to electro-acoustic media, improvisation, and sound installation.
This group is focused on showcasing music written by Black composers and to decenter the musical canon. Resources on this site include repertoire directories, links to sheet music, recordings, bibliographies, discography, as well as podcasts and radio programs.
This list was initiated by a EMA member as a list of Black composers active before 1850. EMA and the IDEA Taskforce recognizes this is not an exhaustive list of BIPOC composers and invites others to use the form on this page to submit additional composers and resources for inclusion.
This catalog contains over 2000 entries containing information about works in which the cello has a prominent role as a solo instrument, soloist with orchestra, in duo with another instrument or electronic media, or in cello ensembles
"We Rise: A Movement Songbook draws on a rich history of social movement music, both old and new. From Spirituals to Labor songs, from Freedom Songs of the Civil Rights Movement to the music rising up from our struggles today, this compilation of movement music is meant to give people ways to join. To remember. To affirm. To honor. To rage. To celebrate. To practice new ways of being in relationship with one another and the earth. To envision and create a world that is just and habitable for future generations."
Anthologies & Collections
This is a select list of score anthologies available at the Finney Music Library or online. Additional anthologies will be added soon.
First published in 1980 and now available only from the University of New Mexico Press, this classic compilation of New Mexico folk music is based on thirty-five years of field research by a giant of modern music. Composer John Donald Robb, a passionate aficionado of the traditions of his adopted state, traveled New Mexico recording and transcribing music from the time he arrived in the Southwest in 1941.
A diverse repertoire of art songs for piano and voice The art song--a delicate and inspiring blend of music and poetry--has been performed by singers and pianists and appreciated by audiences around the world for more than two hundred years. While collections of art songs abound, this welcome volume and its accompanying compact discs make readily available the contributions of contemporary African American composers to the popular genre. Including thirty-nine pieces for voice and piano created since 1968 by eighteen artists, ANew Anthology of Art Songs by African American Composers navigates a varied musical terrain from classical European traditions to jazz and spirituals. With nearly half of the featured songs composed by women and with others by lesser-known and emerging composers, this important collection offers a diverse, representative sampling of African American art songs and works to secure the places of these songs and artists in the canon of contemporary American music. Selected by Jeanine Wagner and Margaret R. Simmons, prolific and celebrated performers who have presented recitals throughout the world featuring the art songs of African American composers, this dazzling new repertoire of twentieth-century music is cogently framed by a thorough introduction and substantial biographies of each composer. The compact discs feature piano tracks of all thirty-nine compositions. The featured composers are H. Leslie Adams, Mable Bailey, Charles S. Brown, Wallace McClain Cheatham, Adolphus Hailstork, Jacqueline B. Hairston, William H. Henderson, Jeraldine Saunders Herbison, Betty Jackson King, William Foster McDaniel, Undine Smith Moore, Byron Motley, Barbara Sherrill, Robert Owens, Nadine Shanti, Frederick Tillis, Dolores White, and Julius P. Williams.
The Public Domain Song Anthology by David Berger and Chuck Israels is a collection of 348 popular songs with modern and traditional harmonization for both study and performance. This open educational resource was curated by two leading jazz repertory experts and consists of songs in the US public domain. This anthology is the first of its kind and is free for students and performers to use, adapt, remix, and share. The songs, many of which are at risk of being forgotten, are free of copyright restrictions and are available in multiple formats to promote greater usage and dissemination.