Find Resources using Library Databases - Strategic Management: Capstone - Bradford Campus

Find Company Information

Look up a NAICS, SIC, or DUNS number.

Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
Use for general searching for company information. In advanced search, change the drop down box to CO Company Entity.
Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
Enter company name in the search box. Change the "Select a Field" drop-down box to "CO - Company Entity."
Limit on the left for NAICS/Industries or add a more specific term on the second line such as SWOT.
Mergent Online This link opens in a new window
Under Company Details tab, scroll down to find company news and corporate events.
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Change the Menu drop-down to Business. In the company box look up by ticker symbol to find lots of market information.
First Research This link opens in a new window
Enter company's NAICS to view a full industry profile. Look under News and Social for industry articles.
Marketscope Advisor This link opens in a new window
Enter the ticker symbol in the search box to find the latest research and spotlights.

More Business Databases
Link to full list of Business Databases available for business research.

Look up a NAICS, SIC, or DUNS number.

Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
Start search by clicking on "Company Information" on the top blue bar. Click the drop-down box and change to search by ticker symbol. Enter the ticker symbol and search. This will provide you with a full company profile.
Marketscope Advisor This link opens in a new window
Add a ticker symbol in the search box and search for your company.
Mergent Online This link opens in a new window
Under Company Search, enter the company ticker symbol and click on "Go." Mergent Online provides a full company profile, competitors, financials, insider trading, and much more.
*Note: If you are working on a private company, be sure to also check the "D&B private company database." Limited data is available on private companies.
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Scroll down and click on Business. Enter the ticker symbol of your company to find the latest Company Profiles.
Statista This link opens in a new window
Click on the Company DB tab and type in company name. Click on your company to get to the company profile.

More Business Databases
Link to full list of Business Databases available for business research.

Look up a NAICS, SIC, or DUNS number.

Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
On the top menu, click on Company Information. Change the drop-down search to ticker symbol. Enter your ticker symbol. Click on your company to get to a company profile. Under Company Data, Industry, click on one of the NAICS codes to search for industry reports. Be sure to use the latest industry information.
IBISWorld This link opens in a new window
Search for an industry in the search box in the middle of the page. Once in the report, select the Key Statistics tab for industry ratios and other data.
Statista This link opens in a new window
Click on the Reports tab. Type in your company to get to the multiple industries for your company.
Mergent's Key Business Ratios (KBR) This link opens in a new window
Once in the database, stay on the Reports tab, and select your industry using the provided SIC or Line of Business options, or type in a NAICS code.
First Research This link opens in a new window
Once in the database, search for your industry by keyword or code. Once in the appropriate industry profile, navigate to the Financial Information section (either by scrolling through the report, or using the navigation menu on the left).
BCC Research This link opens in a new window
Enter company in the search box to discover industry articles that relate to the company entered.
Marketscope Advisor This link opens in a new window
CFRA MarketScope Advisor provides access to extensive market commentary, independent investment analysis, up-to-date news and data on a broad range of asset classes. It includes Stock and Fund Reports and Industry Surveys (formerly called S&P Capital IQ Industry Surveys).

More Business Databases
Link to full list of Business Databases available for business research.

Look up a NAICS, SIC, or DUNS number.

Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
Under Limit your results: go to limit by 'Document Type'
Use the scroll to find and click on Case Study
At search, enter a company name in the top blank space
Change 'Select a Field' dropdown to CO Company Entity
Click Search
Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
Scroll down to the 'Limit your results' area
Under Document Type, check Case Studies
At search, enter a company name in the top blank space
Change 'Select a Field' dropdown to CO Company Entity
Click Search

More Business Databases
Link to full list of Business Databases available for business research.

Look up a NAICS, SIC, or DUNS number.

Mergent's Key Business Ratios (KBR) This link opens in a new window
Key Business Rations (KBR) provides online access to competitive benchmarking data.
Marketscope Advisor This link opens in a new window
Enter the ticker symbol in the search box and scroll down to Revenue/Earnings Data to see current revenue information.
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Scroll down and click on Business. Enter ticker symbol and search. Under the Narrow by, delete the Company Information. Next go to the Category Limit and choose Analyst Reports.
Value Line This link opens in a new window
Enter a company or ticker symbol in the search box to get up-to-date financial information.

More Business Databases
Link to full list of Business Databases available for business research.

Look up a NAICS, SIC, or DUNS number.

Statistical Insight This link opens in a new window
Search by keywords or use the Statistical Abstract of the U.S. for a wide variety of information.
Statista This link opens in a new window
Offers market and consumer data across a variety of topics in the form of statistics, dossiers, and infographics as well as a global consumer behavior survey.
Social Explorer This link opens in a new window
Contains data from over 500,000 data indicators and over 220 years of data for the United States from present to 1790. Use the mapping function to visualize information.
American Census Data This link opens in a new window
Find population, housing, industry, and business statistics or customize your own data of economical nature.

More Business Databases
Link to full list of Business Databases available for business research.

Find Non-Profit Profiles

Nonprofit organizations with 501(c)(3) status are required to file Form 990, Return of Organizations Exempt from Income Tax, with the IRS. The form includes financial statements and background information on the nonprofit, including salaries of key employees (i.e. director, head, officers).

Access to these reports must be provided during regular business hours. All 990 Form information is available from the nonprofit or the IRS. Most are available on the Web through these sites:

The Foundation Center
For information on the Foundation Center of Pittsburgh see the Pittsburgh tab.
CANDID -The GuideStar National Database of Nonprofit Organizations
Requires free registration. The Foundation Center located in the Carnegie Library of Pittsburgh's Oakland Main branch has a Premiere Level subscription to Guide Star.
Search Google
Use 990 and the name of the nonprofit.

Find Private Company Profiles

These online databases contain profiles on private and public companies. The private company information is limited but may include sales and employment estimates or reported data.

Mergent Online This link opens in a new window
**To search for private companies in this database you must check the small box labeled "D&B Private Companies."**
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Search under "Get Company Info" to pull up a company dossier.

Google
When information cannot be obtained by any of the above methods, use Google to search for private company websites or information.

University of Pittsburgh Library System

Course & Subject Guides

Strategic Management: Capstone - Bradford Campus

Find Articles in Professional Organizations

Find Company Information

Find Non-Profit Profiles

Find Private Company Profiles