Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Course & Subject Guides
Literature Resource Center
The Literature Resource Center is a complete literature reference database. Rich in biographical, bibliographical, and critical content, the Literature Resource Center contains information on literary figures from all time periods writing in such genres as fiction, nonfiction, poetry, drama, history, journalism, and more.
Oxford Encyclopedia of American Literature
The Oxford Encyclopedia of American Literature contains 350 essays from leading scholars, encompassing the range and depth of American literary history from the 1600s to the present day. The Encyclopedia includes essays on poets, playwrights, essayists, and novelists, as well as major works and essays on literary movements, periods, and themes.
Non-book Materals Relating to Mary Roberts Rinehart
Audio versions of some of Rinehart's novels
Several of the audiobook versions of Mary Roberts Rinehart's novels are available via Overdrive.
Online photographs of Rinehart
The Library of Congress has nearly 20 images of Mary Roberts Rinehart online, most of which show her in her home.
External Resources and Links
Mary Roberts Rinehart Works via the Project Gutenberg
Works by Mary Roberts Rinehart available through free ebooks: choose among free epub books, free kindle books, download them or read them online.
The Library Thing on Mary Roberts Rinehart
LibraryThing is a cataloging and social networking site for book lovers. It helps you create a library-quality catalog of books: books you own, books you've read, books you'd like to read, books you've lent out ... whatever grouping you'd like.
Mary Roberts Rinehart Chapter of Sisters in Crime
Sisters in Crime is an international organization of writers, readers, booksellers, librarians, agents, editors, reviewers, and teachers interested in promoting the work of women mystery writers.
Books in the ULS
Here is a sampling of Rinehart scholarship from the Special Collections department and elsewhere in the ULS .
My Story by
Call Number: Special Collections: PS3535.I73 Z5 1931
Publication Date: 1931
The Web of Iniquity by
Call Number: General Collection: PS374.D4 N532 1999
Publication Date: 1999
The Web of Iniquityis a study of detective fiction written by American women between the Civil War and World War II.
Women of Mystery by
Call Number: General Collection: PR830.D4 D83 2000
Publication Date: 2000
Women of Mystery is not merely a directory of the novelists and their publications with a few biographical details. DuBose combines extensive research into the lives of significant women mystery writers from Anna Katherine Green and Mary Roberts Rinehart with critical essays on their work, anecdotes, contemporary reviews and opinions and some of the women's own comments.