Jane Austen at Home offers a fascinating look at Jane Austen’s world through the lens of the homes in which she lived and worked throughout her life. The result is a refreshingly unique perspective on Austen and her work and a beautifully nuanced exploration of gender, creativity, and domesticity.

Austen in America tells the story of America’s long love-affair with Jane Austen and her work. Beginning with the first US edition of Emma, published in Philadelphia in 1816, Juliette Wells -- author of Everybody’s Jane: Austen in the Popular Imagination -- goes on to explore Austen’s American publication history, correspondence with readers through the ages and the work of curators, promoters and fans of Austen in the 21st century.

Returning author Devoney Looser has written a study of Jane Austen’s legacy in high and popular culture, looking at stage and film adaptations of her work, how Austen has been taught in classrooms, Austen’s depiction in visual culture, and Austen’s role in the women’s suffragist movement. Looser draws on popular print and unpublished archival sources, amassing evidence from high, middlebrow, and popular culture, in order to craft a more capacious history of posthumous reception. The book is a detailed and revealing account of what Looser calls the "public dimension" of Jane Austen, who is a "manufactured creation." Looser has dug deep and come up with brand-new material on Austen, something that is very hard to do. This is the kind of material that Janeites and Austen scholars live for.

A brilliant, illuminating reassessment of the life and work of Jane Austen that makes clear how Austen has been misread for the past two centuries and that shows us how she intended her books to be read, revealing, as well, how subversive and daring--how truly radical--a writer she was. In this fascinating, revelatory work, Helena Kelly--dazzling Jane Austen authority--looks past the grand houses, the pretty young women, past the demure drawing room dramas and witty commentary on the narrow social worlds of her time that became the hallmark of Austen's work to bring to light the serious, ambitious, deeply subversive nature of this beloved writer. Kelly illuminates the radical subjects--slavery, poverty, feminism, the Church, evolution, among them--considered treasonous at the time, that Austen deftly explored in the six novels that have come to embody an age. The author reveals just how in the novels we find the real Jane Austen: a clever, clear-sighted woman "of information," fully aware of what was going on in the world and sure about what she thought of it. We see a writer who understood that the novel--until then seen as mindless "trash"--could be a great art form and who, perhaps more than any other writer up to that time, imbued it with its particular greatness.

Noted for her wit and cunning satirical edge, Austen used her subtle gifts to produce works that delicately balanced the pursuit of romance and self-realization with piercing social insight. This updated edition provides a well-rounded critical portrait of this increasingly popular author and is supplemented by a chronology, notes on the contributor, and a bibliography.

This 2005 collection of essays covering many aspects of Austen's life, works and historical context provides the fullest introduction in one volume to the life and times of Jane Austen. Jane Austen in Context is a generously illustrated collection of short, lively contributions arranged alphabetically, and covering topics from biography to portraits and agriculture to transport.

Critical Companion to Jane Austen examines her life and works, and includes critical analyses of the themes within her writing, as well as entries on related topics and relevant people, places, and influences. Coverage includes: A concise but comprehensive biography of Jane Austen Entries on Austen's works, including major entries on her novels, as well as entries on her many posthumously published works.

A study of Jane Austen's life and writings, this work surveys two centuries of editing, censorship, and fiction that created a pious, wistful, romantically pining, and frustrated Austen. It serves up an antidote to that icon by examining subtle self-portraits in the author's works. In addition, Auerbach considers Austen's final irreverent writings, discusses her tragic death at the age of forty-one, and ferrets out ridiculous modern adaptations and illustrations, including ads, cartoons, book jackets, newspaper articles, plays, and films from our own time.

Regarded as a brilliant social satirist by scholars, Austen also enjoys the sort of popular affection usually reserved for girl-next-door movie stars, leading to the paradox of an academically revered author who has served as the inspiration for chick lit (The Jane Austen Book Club) and modern blockbusters (Becoming Jane). Almost two hundred years after her death, Austen remains a hot topic, and the current flare in the cultural zeitgeist echoes the continuous revival of her works, from the time of original publication through the twentieth century. In Jane’s Fame, Claire Harman gives us the complete biography—of both the author and her lasting cultural influence—making this essential reading for anyone interested in Austen’s life, works, and remarkably potent fame.