Top Resources - Economics for International Business - Oakland Campus

Examining Multiple Sides

Below are some resources you can use to examine your topic from multiple perspectives. Be sure to evaluate the credibility, authority, accuracy, timeliness, and relevancy of each source you use.

ULS Newspaper Subscriptions

Wall Street Journal (Student Subscription)
This link will help you establish a student account with the Wall Street Journal, offering full access to wsj.com and their various media.

These links are access to the NYT and WSJ through ProQuest which can often be easier for searching than using their websites when using newspapers for research. The FT link is through Nexis-Uni which operates similarly.

Wall Street Journal (Current) This link opens in a new window
National Newspapers via ProQuest provides current full text access to some popular publications like Christian Science Monitor and the New York Times.
New York Times (Current) This link opens in a new window
National Newspapers via ProQuest provides current full text access to some popular publications like Christian Science Monitor and the New York Times.

International and National News Databases

Use these databases to find news articles from large US newspapers to recognized newspapers around the world.

Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Provides news articles and legal documents.
1. Select Search by Subject or Topic in the top right
2. Select All News
3. Enter search terms, such as Trade AND Conflict
4. Select Advanced Options
a. Enter the time period or Date you want to study.
b. Select source(s) by clicking check box(es) under Source Type
c. Narrow by country under Geographic Location
d. Press Apply
5. Select Search
CountryWatch This link opens in a new window
Provides current information and news on countries. To get to country profiles, select the CountryReviews link in the upper-left of the screen.
Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new window
Ethnic NewsWatch is a full-text collection of the newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press. Ethnic NewsWatch contains nearly 500,000 complete articles dating back to 1990 from 200 publications. English and Spanish language search options are available.
National Newspapers (Current) (Full Text) This link opens in a new window
National Newspapers via ProQuest provides current full text access to some popular publications like Christian Science Monitor and the New York Times.

Policy

Use the resources below to find information on immigration, environmental, human rights and other policies.

Policy File Index This link opens in a new window
Covers all public policy issues and it draws its content from public policy think tanks, university research programs, research organizations and publishers.
PAIS Index This link opens in a new window
Since its establishment in 1914, PAIS (Public Affairs Information Service) has chronicled issues in the public debate through highly selective coverage of a wide variety of sources. The PAIS Archive provides historical perspective on many of the 20th century's public and social policies.

Global Reports

World Economic Forum
Reports from an independent international organization on global competiveness, gender gap, risks and more.

Academic Journal Articles

Use these databases to search for academic journal articles - written by and for academic researchers.

EconLit This link opens in a new window
*Contains articles focused on Economics
1. Enter your search terms
2. On the left of the results, select Academic Journals as your Source Types.
Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
*Contains articles focused on business topics.
1. Search for your keywords
2. On the left of the results, limit results to Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) Journals.

University of Pittsburgh Library System

Course & Subject Guides

Economics for International Business - Oakland Campus

Business Librarian