Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Course & Subject Guides

Entrepreneurship Resources @ Pitt

Information and resources to support multidisciplinary entrepreneurial research and activity.

Search tips:

  • Identify your industry. In order to perform more efficient research, you'll want a clearly defined industry to start with.
  • Try related terms for keyword searches, like "apparel" vs. "clothing." Databases may have different terms for the same or similar industry.
  • Try multiple databases. Each covers different industries, with some overlap.
  • Industry code designations, like NAICS or SIC codes, are NOT uniform across databases. You may have to adjust your search as you use different databases.
  • Use trade or professional associations as they often produce and publish helpful reports and data.

Finding Industry Reports & Data

Industry reports, available in databases, print resources, and websites, contain valuable analysis of an industry's operating conditions, driving forces, competitive landscapes, and more.

Best Bets

Additional Pitt Databases

Finding Industry News

Finding up-to date industry information and news can be really important when working on research projects, networking, and job hunting. Use the following resources to help

Industry associations or organizations can provide a wealth of information about the industry. Many will also include recent news sections as well.
 
For how to find industry associations, take a look at the Industry Associations section of the Doing Industry Research guide.

Many databases offer alert services. Look for any button or link that says alerts or save search or something similar. Most databases will first require you to sign up for a free account. 

For further information about setting up alerts, RSS feeds, and other ways to get up-to-date company news more quickly, refer to the following guide.