This volume is the first multidisciplinary guide to the study of Latin American studies to provide both broad coverage and substantial depth. It includes essays on research trends and approaches, provides entries on over 6,000 bibliographic and research sources, and selectively identifies specialized collections and resources in United States research libraries. The contributors provide the perspectives of Latin American bibliographers, researchers, and Latin American scholars. The book is divided into fifteen chapters, beginning with a general bibliography of interdisciplinary sources. The fourteen chapters that follow cover disciplines in the social sciences and humanities. Each chapter includes an introductory essay or essays, one or more bibliographic sections, and a section describing relevant special collections. The work also includes subject, author, and title indexes. The multidisciplinary nature of the work will make it valuable to students, librarians, and faculty members in Latin American Studies.

Through a wide variety of primary sources--including letters, eyewitness accounts, and governmental documents--this collection portrays in vivid detail the three indigenous rebellions that threatened Spanish control of its South American colonies more than a quarter century before the Wars of Independence (1808-1825). Headnotes introduce each selection, and a general introduction provides historical, cultural, and political context. Maps, a chronology of the rebellions, and a glossary of terms are included.

The original 1995 encyclopedia, an award winner from both the American Library Association (Dartmouth Certificate) and the American Historical Association, was celebrated as a landmark in the development of Latin American studies (The Americas). This new edition adds nearly 600 entirely new topics, replaces some 150 obsolete entries, and also provides substantial revisions to hundreds more. Every one of the 5,700+ entries has been reviewed for currency of content and bibliography. An entirely new illustration program features over 100 full-color photographs in addition to hundreds in black-and-white. National statistics have been conveniently tabulated for every one of Latin America's 37 countries. ....

Essays discuss the Native peoples of Latin America and the effect of the European conquest on their cultures, the development of colonial societies, and the establishment of the Catholic Church in the Americas.

v. 1. América precolombina y la consolidación del espacio colonial
v. 2. La sociedad colonial ibérica en el siglo XVIII.

1. La gestación del mundo hispanoamericano
2. Ruptura del viejo orden hispanoamericano
3. America Latina. En busqueda de un nuevo orden (1870-1990).

Anthology of literary texts on the discovery and exploration of the Americas.

Colonial Lives offers a rich variety of archival documents in translation which bring to life the political and economic workings of Latin American colonies during 300 years of Spanish rule, as well as the day-to-day lives of the colonies' inhabitants. Intended to complement textbooks such as Burkholder and Johnson's Colonial Latin America by presenting students with primary sources -- the raw materials on which the facts in other textbooks are based -- this reader strives to illustrate the impact of issues such as race, class, gender, sexuality,culture and religion in the daily lives of both natives and colonists alike. The concerns, struggles and perspectives of the inhabitants of colonial Latin America are reflected in transcripts of civil and criminal court cases, administrative reviews, ecclesiastical investigations, Inquisitiontrials, wills, and letters the editors have included in this reader. Each document is prefaced by an introduction that places it in the social and political context of the period.

Colonial Latin America: A Documentary History centers on people from different parts of the world who came together to form societies by chance and by design in the years after 1492. Colonial Latin America: A Documentary History is a sourcebook of primary texts and images intended for students and teachers as well as for scholars and general readers. This text is designed to encourage a detailed exploration of the cultural development of colonial Latin America through a wide variety of documents and visual materials, most of which have been translated and presented originally for this collection.

The Human Tradition in Colonial Latin America is an anthology of stories of largely ordinary individuals struggling to forge a life during the unstable colonial period in Latin America. These mini-biographies vividly show the tensions that emerged when the political, social, religious, and economic ideals of the Spanish and Portuguese colonial regimes and the Roman Catholic Church conflicted with the realities of daily living in the Americas. Now fully updated with new and revised essays, the book is carefully balanced among countries and ethnicities. Within an overall theme of social order and disorder in a colonial setting, the stories bring to life issues of gender; race and ethnicity; conflicts over religious orthodoxy; and crime, violence, and rebellion. Written by leading scholars, the essays are specifically designed to be readable and interesting. Ideal for the Latin American history survey and for courses on colonial Latin American history, this fresh and human text will engage as well as inform students.

This is a complete history of South and Central America. It is a vivid, analytical narrative and is appropriately illustrated with maps and photographs. Complete history of Latin America, from the ancient civilizations to the twentieth century. Illustrated with original maps and photographs. Compelling narrative account explains internal change within an international context.

This comprehensive narrative covers Latin America's pre-Colombian and colonial periods, including its civil war and struggle for independence. Brown's clear, lively prose stresses social history (as opposed to political history).

This book provides a general history of Latin America in the period between the European conquest and the gaining of independence by the Spanish American countries and Brazil.

In 1513, when Ponce de Leon stepped ashore on a beach of what is now Florida, Spain gained its first foothold in North America. For the next 300 years, Spaniards ranged through the continent building forts, missions and farms, ranches and towns to reconstruct the Iberian world.