Guides: Global Studies: Data & Statistical Sources

Country Information and Statistics

CIA World Factbook
The World Factbook provides information on the history, people, government, economy, geography, communications, transportation, military, and transnational issues for 266 world entities.

CountryWatch
CountryWatch provides up-to-date information and news on the countries of the world.
Economist Intelligence Unit (EIU)
EIU provides data and forecasts about political, economic, and business climates of various regions and up to 200 countries, as well as related news, analysis, and risk factor assessments. Coverage includes online versions of the Country Commerce, Country Finance, the Business Briefings series. Includes access to EIU Viewpoint that provides Global, regional and country-level analysis for nearly 200
markets.
Europa World

*Effective 12/31/25, this resource will no longer be accessible. Please contact Ask Us or your subject specialist for assistance on finding replacement resources to search.
Europa World is the online version of the Europa World Year Book, the indispensable source of information on world-wide affairs. The database includes detailed surveys of over 250 countries and territories, a comprehensive listing of over 1,650 international organizations, access to the very latest statistics, directory information and current analysis.

Eurostat
The European Union collects a large number of statistics about its member countries.

OECD iLibrary

OECD iLibrary is the online library of the Organisation for Economic Cooperation and Development (OECD) featuring its books, papers and statistics. The OECD consists of 30 member countries sharing a commitment to democratic government and the market economy. With active relationships with some 70 other countries, NGOs and civil society, it has a global reach. Best known for its publications and its statistics, its work covers economic and social issues.
Statesman's Yearbook Online
Searchable volumes from 1864 to the present. Entries on world leaders, cities, and institutions.

These are selected resources for United States data.

American Census Data

Primary way to access Census Bureau data, including releases from the 2018 American Community Survey, 2017 Economic Census, 2020 Census and more. Use data.census.gov to view, print, and download statistics about population, housing, industry, and business.

DATA.gov
The home of the U.S. Government’s open data.
Economagic
Access to over 400,000 data sets of federal and state level (some city/SMA) time series data sets. US data sets from the Census, Commerce, Energy, Federal Reserve, Labor, and Treasury departments. Also includes LIBOR, Australia, Japan and the Central Bank of Europe.
General Social Survey
The GSS contains a standard core of demographic, behavioral, and attitudinal questions, plus topics of special interest. Among the topics covered are civil liberties, crime and violence, intergroup tolerance, morality, national spending priorities, psychological well-being, social mobility, and stress and traumatic events.

Social Explorer

Social Explorer is mainly an interactive map of demographic information drawn from the US Census. Users can examine geographic areas while selecting the type of data to be shown, such as population density or income level. Note: Creation of a Personal Account is required to fully access all Social Explorer features.

Sourcebook of Criminal Justice Statistics
Brings together data from more than 100 sources about many aspects of criminal justice in the United States.

Statistical Abstract of the U.S. (ProQuest)

The Statistical Abstract of the United States is a one-volume, comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic organization of the United States. Use the Abstract as a convenient volume for statistical reference, and as a guide to sources of more information both in print and on the Web.

Statistical Abstract of the United States (1878-2012)
The last edition of this work was published by the Census in 2012.

Statistical Insight

*Effective 6/30/25, this resource will no longer be accessible. Please contact Ask Us or your subject specialist for assistance on finding replacement resources to search.
Provides abstracting, indexing, and full text for publications from hundreds of public domain and licensed sources.