Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Course & Subject Guides

Global Studies

This guide is a starting point for research in the multidisciplinary field of global studies. It includes resources with transnational and international concerns and offers socioeconomic, political, cultural, health and environmental perspectives.

Overview of Relevant Resources

Databases provide good sources for the high quality, scholarly information needed for your research. Below is a table with brief descriptions of some of our best databases devoted to global topics.

Title

Description

Nexis Uni

newspapers, newswires, US court cases, international news

Academic Search Premier (EBSCO)

interdisciplinary scholarly journals and news; comprehensive

Africa Wide Information (EBSCO)

index of databases with material from or about Africa

CountryWatch

up-to-date news, maps and geopolitical intelligence

CQ Researcher

historic background & analysis of current controversies;

Digital Dissertations  (ProQuest)

abstracts of dissertations back to 1861, full text for recent

EconLit   (EBSCO)

journals, book reviews, working papers, dissertations

Economist Intelligence Unit

international political & economic country forecasts and data

*PASSPORT (Euromonitor)

economic, demographic and lifestyle statistics Euromonitor compiles from IMF, UN, World Bank…

International Financial Statistics (IMF)

exchange rates, commodity prices, country information

Public Affairs Info Service (PAIS)

articles, conference reports, historic and current materials

Policy File

from public policy think tanks, research organizations

OECD iLibrary / was Source OECD

monographs, periodicals, interactive statistical data

Statesman’s Yearbook Online

yearly country profiles back to 1864 include economic, financial and political information

*Statistical Insight (Lexis-Nexis)

comprehensive access to statistical information

*United Nations Data Database

statistics from UN, WHO, UNESCO, World Bank

Women’s Studies International (EBSCO)

academic, popular, and grassroots periodicals

*World Development Indicators

time series economic and socio-economic data

Foreign Broadcast Info Service (FBIS)

compiled from non-US local news sources; covers years 1941-1996.

Worldwide Political Science Abstracts

includes international relations, law, public administration

Key International Organizations

These web resources provide general information about domestic and international affairs, economics, education, and other issues related to global studies.

CC BY

 

Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International License.