Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Course & Subject Guides

Faculty and Staff Development Program - Oakland Campus

From Information to Insight: this hands-on course for the Faculty and Staff Development Program (FSDP) from Human Resources will introduce users to our library system's resources and services.

Suggested Databases

These databases are excellent starting points for your research because they have something on every subject:

How do I Find Articles . .

If you’re looking for articles on a topic, search an Article Database.

Databases are collections of articles that you can search by topic or subject.  Most of our databases offer links to the full text of articles. If you know the name of the database you want to search, start at the Databases A-Z list. If you’re not sure which database to search, you can search databases in a particular Subject, or ask a librarian for guidance.

If you have a citation to an article, search PittCat:

PittCat will list all the journals we subscribe to either online or in paper.  If the journal is online, the PittCat record will offer a link directly to the journal database. If the ULS doesn’t subscribe to the journal online, PittCat will list any paper volumes and issues we have of that journal.

If you are looking for a journal try searching the Journal Finder:

You can search by journal title to find out if we have a particular journal online. Remember that not all journals or issues of journals are available online.

If we don’t have the journal or article you need, request the article for free through Interlibrary Loan.