The most recent of the single volume bibliographies, Baker and Womack's book provides annotated entries for 1,876 monographs in critical theory and literary criticism published between 1989 and 1995. Entries for anthologies list the individual essays or articles included in the volume. The entries are organized alphabetically by author in seven broad categories: "General Criticism," "Semiotics, Narratology, Rhetoric and Language Systems," "Postmodernism and Deconstruction," "Reader-Response and Phenomenological Criticism," "Feminist Criticism and Gender Studies," "Psychoanalytic Criticism," and "Historical Criticism." Author and subject indexes appear at the back.

This bibliography arranges citations in separate sections devoted to a particular critical approach, school, or discipline, for example, "Psychological Criticism," "Hermeneutics," "Post-structuralism," "Narratology," and "Semiotics". Use the classified index at the back of the volume to locate citations to materials on the work of a particular theorist.

Marshall's bibliography classifies listings by critical school or approach, but also includes sections on cultural criticism, poststructuralist cultural criticism, literacy, orality and printing, and ethnic and postcolonial studies. Works by and about prominent individual theorists are listed separately within each section. Unlike Orr, Marshall provides headnotes for the sections and brief annotations for many of the works cited. As its title indicates, the bibliography is selective, and works in foreign languages (supplied in Orr) are excluded here.

Produced by the UK's English Association, The Year's Work in Critical and Cultural Theory is an annual survey of work published in the field. Individual scholars provide bibliographic review essays in such areas as general critical theory, semiotics, intertextuality, psychoanalysis, feminism, historicism, colonial discourse/postcolonial theory, queer theories/cultures, media studies, art histories and visual cultural studies, popular music and film studies. A general index is provided at the back of each volume. To gain access to the online version, enter the title in PittCat and click on the links in the record provided.

The last print edition of the MLA International Bibliography was published in 2009. In the event you do not have access to an online version of the Bibliography in a particular library, you may be able to consult print editions of Volume 4 of the classified listing of the Bibliography for years prior to 2010, looking under the section entitled "Literary Theory and Criticism." This section is further subdivided into sections on particular critical approaches such as "Deconstructionism," "Feminist Literary Theory and Criticism," "Marxist Literary Theory and Criticism," and "Reception Theory." You may find it easier to look in the subject index volumes for more recent years under a particular topic or theorist in order to find relevant citations quickly.