Guides: Company Research @ Pitt: Private Companies

Private Company Information

In the US, a public company: (a) offers stock for sale publicly on a stock exchange, and (b) makes public certain business/financial information as dictated by the Securities & Exchange Commission (SEC).

Private company shares are held by a small group of investors and are not publicly traded. Private company are NOT regulated by the SEC, so they are not compelled to disclose the same information.

Private company research is trickier than public company research.

See the guides linked in the box below for tips.

Adapted from Introduction to the Markets: Public Companies from the U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission.

Giant Eagle Logo

Giant Eagle and IKEA are examples of private companies.

These online databases contain profiles on private and public companies. The private company information is limited but may include sales and employment estimates or reported data.

Mergent Online This link opens in a new window
Be sure to check the box next to the D&B Private Company Database option above the Company Search box.
Keep in mind that not all private companies will show up in Hoovers, and when they do, there will likely be limited information available.
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Formerly Lexis-Nexis Academic, it contains company profiles and more. Keep in mind that not all private companies will show up, and when they do, there will likely be limited information available.
1. On the homepage, under Discover topics select Business
2. Select Company Dossier. Search for the company by name or ticker.
3. Select the correct company, and once in the dossier, navigate throughout using the menu on the left.
4. Use the links on the left to navigate through related information.
Capital IQ This link opens in a new window
Also known as S&P Capital IQ or Standard and Poor’s Capital IQ.
Capital IQ contains detailed financial information about companies and industries. You can screen for companies and create lists.
NOTE: Please review the FAQ for information on terminal/workstation access in the library and individual accounts.

Comb the company website for information. Here are some tips:

Some websites have an About Us or Investor Relations tab where you might find some useful details about their financials or operations.
- For example, scroll down to see the Quick Facts on Giant Eagle's About Us page.
Check for press releases or a news section for information about company financials and activities.
Look for Annual Reports on the company website or contact the company to see if one is available.

Private company information can turn up in articles and might be all that is available. The articles may be about anything from the company's new products and services to financial figures to the opening of a new location. The information available will vary from company to company but can be used to develop an impression of the company's financial condition.

Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
In the first search bar, type in the company's name.
To do an even more specific search, change the drop-down menu to show CO Company Entity
Regional Business News This link opens in a new window
Enter your company in the first box and press Search.
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Note: This will find articles about the company regardless of how the author refers to the company.
1. Under the main search box, click Advanced Search.
2. Under the main search box, now click Select a different content type.
3. Click News
4. Under the Terms section, add any keywords, like sales, marketing, or a specific product or brand.
5. Under Document Segments/Fields, enter the company into the Company Name or Ticker boxes. Note: it is important to enter the official company name.
6. Use any other advanced search fields and press Search.

There are a number of directories that list private companies. Various editions of these directories are available in print at the Business Library and ULS Storage. Check with a librarian to determine where to find the edition that best meets your research needs.

LexisNexis Corporate Affiliations
Available at Hillman Library.
A multivolume set of company directories. Volumes 5 and 6 are focused on private companies.
Ward's Business Directory
Available online.
Contains a limited amount of current financial data and sometimes several years of historical financial information.
1. In dropdown under “Select one or more directories,” click on dropdown box.
2. Select Ward's Business Directory of U.S. Private and Public Companies
3. Search for the company’s name
D&B Million Dollar Directory
Available at Hillman Library.
A directory of the leading private and public companies in the U.S.

Although private companies are typically not required to file with the U.S. SEC, they need to file at the state level in order to operate. These filings will provide you with basic information about the company and can often be found via the state's Department of State website.

See the example from the Pennsylvania Department of State below.

Pennsylvania Corporation Record Search
This is available via the Pennsylvania Department of State website. The search allows you to find a business by name or entity ID. Other Department of State websites will have similar corporation search options.

Give the company a call or send them an email. Explain that you are a student and what you are looking for. They might be willing to share their information with you.

Find contact information on the company website, in company profiles or in directories, such as the following:

Corporate Yellow Book (print only)
The Corporate Yellow Book contains contact information for top and some mid-level executives in U.S. Companies as well as the contact information for Executive Assistants. Listings for Boards of Directors are available for some companies.
Call Number: Reference HG4057 A15464.
Updated Quarterly.

University of Pittsburgh Library System

Course & Subject Guides

Company Research @ Pitt

Private Company Information