Guides: Company Research @ Pitt: Corporate Social Responsibility

Corporate Social Responsibility (CSR)

Corporate social responsibility "has been defined by the World Business Council as ‘the continuing commitment by business to behave ethically and to contribute to economic development while improving the quality of life of the workforce and their families, as well as of the local community and society at large’. The intention of companies adopting a socially responsible corporate attitude is to ensure a positive social, environmental, and economic impact on the communities within which they operate and on all other stakeholders."

Typically corporate social responsibility focuses on improving the environmental and social impact an organization has within its community and the world.

View the full Corporate Social Responsibility Guide for additional resources.

Reference:

Corporate social responsibility (CSR). (2003). In Capstone Press, Capstone encyclopedia of business. Hoboken, NJ: Wiley. Retrieved from http://pitt.idm.oclc.org/login?url=http://search.credoreference.com/content/entry/capstonebus/corporate_social_responsibility_csr/0

Accompanying image is from PNC's CSR site.

Use the following resources to find articles related to CSR.

Search Tip: If "corporate social responsibility" is not coming back with relevant results, try "social responsibility business" or "social responsibility" or even "green," "social issues," or "environmentally friendly."

Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
1. In the first search bar, type in the company's name. (To do an even more specific search, change the drop-down menu to show CO Company Entity)
2. In the second search bar, type in "corporate social responsibility." Using the quotations will force the database to search this entire phrase in this order.
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
To find CSR news articles on a company:
1. Under the main search box, click Advanced Search.
2. Under the main search box, now click Select a different content type.
3. Click News
4. Under the Terms section, add keywords like "corporate social responsibility" or "triple bottom line" (in quotation marks if you want it searched as a specific phrase).
5. If you are looking for information on a specific company, under Document Segments/Fields, enter the company into the Company Name or Ticker boxes. Note: it is important to enter the official company name.
6. Use any other advanced search fields and press Search.

Find books and ebooks in our collection about CSR using PittCat.

Corporate Social Responsibility by OECD Staff (Editor)
ISBN: 9789264194854
Publication Date: 2001-10-10
Corporate Social Responsibility (CSR) is business's contribution to sustainable development. Today, corporate behaviour must not only ensure returns to shareholders, wages to employees and products and services to customers, it must also respond to societal and environmental concerns. Local cultures are a countervailing force to the global economy and the struggle between the forces of global commerce and the interests of local cultures brings with it new politics. This volume provides a comprehensive overview of contemporary experiences and practices at the local level. It illustrates that partnerships provide a powerful mechanism for helping firms become more socially responsible.
The a to Z of Corporate Social Responsibility by Wayne Visser; Dirk Matten; Manfred Pohl; Nick Tolhurst
ISBN: 9780470666524
Publication Date: 2010-10-01
CSR has now moved beyond the stage of specialist or niche subject to become an integral part of global business and society. This timely edition is destined to become the definitive guide to CSR, Sustainability, Business Ethics and the organizations and standards in the field. The A to Z of Corporate Social Responsibility is a unique publication and is the culmination of over a hundred of the world's leading thinkers, opinion formers, academic and business people providing an easy-to-use guide to CSR: from general concepts such as sustainability, stakeholder management, business ethics and human rights to more specific topics such as carbon trading, microfinance, biodiversity, the Base of the Pyramid model and globalisation. In addition to definitions of the most important terms across the wide range of CSR associated topics, this book also covers all the most important codes and guidelines, such as the Equator Principles, the UN Global Compact and ISO standards, as well as providing background on organizations such as the World Business Council for Sustainable Development and Transparency International and profiles of CSR in particular industries and regions. This paperback edition includes all the latest developments in CSR as well as incorporating new sections on boardroom pay, the sub-prime market and the financial crisis. Praise for the first edition: "A complete reference guide...offers an invaluable combination of lessons learned and best practice for the future...provides first-hand insights" (Forum CSR International, October 2008) "This is a timely and innovative contribution to the field of Corporate Social Responsibility" (Retail & Leisure International, February 2008) "...a handy reference to have on the shelf behind your desk..." (Ethical Performance, February 2008) "You will not find a wider display of today's key global players and their action programs than here." (CSR-News.net, May 2008) "The book contains a great deal of detailed research." (Supply Management, May 2008)

CR's Best Corporate Citizens
Ranked by environment, climate change, employee relations, human rights, corporate governance, financial performance, philanthropy & community support. There is a link to access the full report near the bottom of the page.
Reputation Institute CSR Rankings
Ranked by performance in citizenship, governance, and workplace dimensions.
ETHISPHERE World's Most Ethical Companies
A list of the world's most ethical companies according to ETHISPHERE. Check under Scoring & Methodology for information on the process.
Bloomberg Terminal
Note: Only available on Bloomberg Terminals in the Mervis Finance Lab.
Based on a range of environmental, social, and corporate governance (ESG) factors, tailored to that company’s industry. Presented alongside much of the supporting data.
Once you are logged on to a terminal, enter a company/equity, then enter FA ESG [GO].

Better Business Bureau
Search for reports on businesses or charities (BBB Wise Giving Alliance)
Business & Human Rights Resource Center
Provides a fast way to find information about the exploitative practices of 4,000 businesses worldwide. Search by company name, issue, country or topic.
Business Ethics: A Manual for Managing a Responsible Business Enterprise in Emerging Market Economies
A business ethics manual from the US International Trade Administration.
CorporateRegister.com
Search this global directory of CSR reports on sustainability and the environment, covering thousands of companies.
Corporate Research Project
A non-profit center that researches and analyzes companies and industries.
globalEDGE
Created by Michigan State University, they maintain a list of web resources on CSR.
Greenbiz Sustainability
Provides articles on current trends in business, technology, and sustainability.
The Responsible Shopper
Evaluates companies based on their record on human rights, social justice, environmental sustainability and more.
Sustainability Disclosure Database
Global Reporting Initiative provides users with sustainability reports and other information.

University of Pittsburgh Library System

Course & Subject Guides

Company Research @ Pitt

Corporate Social Responsibility (CSR)