Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Course & Subject Guides
Online Digital Collections
Many publications and maps related to the Civil War have been digitized and made available online. The links below can be used to access digital collections related to the Civil War.
Charting a More Perfect Union
An historical collection of maps and documents prepared by the U.S. Coast Survey during the Civil War, which is provided by the National Oceanic & Atmospheric Administration.
The American Civil War
From the National Park Service (NPS) contains links to educational resources, information about battle fields, and a searchable index to the names of men who served in the Civil War.
The Southern Homefront, 1861-1865
A collection related to Southern life during the Civil War from the University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill.
The Dredd Scott Case Collection
Records from the St. Louis Circuit Court related to the Dredd Scott case, which ultimately went to the U.S. Supreme Court, developed by Washington University in St. Louis.
Valley of the Shadow
A digital collection related to life in two communities in Augusta County, Virginia and Franklin County, Pennsylvania from John Brown's raid on Harpers Ferry to Reconstruction.
Making of America - Cornell University
A digital library of primary sources in American social history from the antebellum period through reconstruction.
Making of America - University of Michigan
A digital library of primary sources in American social history primarily from the antebellum period through reconstruction. This site has a number of primary sources covering the Civil War period (1861-1865).
Pennsylvania Civil War Deserters Database
Database for the 24,421 records compiled from the Descrptive List of Deserters from Pennsylvania Military Units. Published in 1866 by the Provost Marshal General’s Office, contains various physical and demographic information for Pennsylvania Civil War deserters.