Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Course & Subject Guides

United States Civil War - Oakland Campus: Government Information

This guide has been developed to provide information on resources that are useful for those conducting research on the Civil War.

Legislative & Legal History

Executive Branch & Presidential Papers

U.S. Executive Branch Documents from 1789-1909 are available on microfiche in the ULS Thomas Blvd microform storage collection. To find documents, please consult the CIS Index to U.S. Executive Branch Documents, 1789-1909, located in the ULS Thomas Boulevard storage facility. 

War of the Rebellion - Official Records

The Rebellion Records were compiled and published over approximately 20 years after the Civil War ended.   Because they were printed over a significant span of years, libraries have pulled these volumes into a separate shelved series as they don't sit together on the shelf if they are kept with the U.S. Congressional Serial Set. You can find the collection by going to the U.S. Congressional Serial Set database. You can then click on "Armed Forces and Conflicts" and then navigate down to "War of the Rebellion: A Compilation of of the Official Records of the Union and Confederate Armies." The collection has also been scanned by the University of North Texas and is freely available online.

There are more than 130 volumes (and close to 200 parts) in the official series, including the index and atlas volumes, and there is a separately published and indexed series of approximately 30 volumes of the Official Records of Union and Confederate Navies included in this bibliography.

Library of Congress Materials

U.S. Census

U.S. Census of Population, 1860 & 1870

Statistical Reports: Hillman Library, Census Publications Collection.

1860 Call No. I 9.5: 

1870 Call No. I 10.5:

ULS Storage Facility, Microforms Collection, HA A11 Reels 161 and 162. Manufactures are on Reel 132.

Federal Population Census Schedules: These include names of individuals. Also known as “name rolls” or “enumerator schedules.” Library Location: ULS Storage Facility, Microforms Collection,

1860 Call No.:  HA A8

1870 Call No.:  HA A9