Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Course & Subject Guides

Chemical Engineering 0613 - Systems Engineering 2: Process Design - Oakland Campus: Finding Background Information

This guide provides research assistance for students taking the Chemical Engineering Process Design course. The focus of the guide is on identifying appropriate resources in the field and using them effectively for research projects.

Background Information

Finding Articles

Engineering Databases:

The following databases will be particularly useful for this course:

Business Databases:

The following databases are particularly useful for conducting market research and finding industry reports.

See the following guides for additional information on searching for business information:

Chemical Engineering Design Books:

The following books may be of interest, or see the instructions in the next section for searching the library catalog.

Tips for Searching PittCat:

Enter your search terms and hit enter or click on the spyglass icon. PittCat will offer correct spellings, and search for variations of your search terms. 

The Result List will include articles, books, e-materials, and journals. Click on the title of an item for more detailed information about the item, such as an abstract or the shelf location for a book. If full-text content is available, you can get the full-text by clicking on the item title or the "Available Online" link. 

You can Refine Your Results by using the options on the left. Narrow your results to items in the catalog, a specific campus, format, publication date, limiting to scholarly information, and more.

If Full-Text Content is available, you can get the full-text by clicking on the item title or the "Available Online" link.