Skip to main content

Fine Arts - Bradford Campus: Library Information

This guide supports these courses and areas of inquiry.

Library Home Page

Image result for university library system university of pittsburgh pittsburgh pa

https://www.library.pitt.edu/

Use this link to access articles, books, ebooks, audio books,

videos, databases, newspapers, etc.

Speak with a Librarian!

Hanley Library has 3 librarians who are always ready to help you!

Catherine Baldwin, Marietta Frank, and Kim Bailey will work with you individually to help you find great resources that fit your interests.

You can drop by their offices in Hanley Library or send them an email to schedule an appointment.

We take the frustration out of research and show you how to be efficient and effective.  You might even enjoy the process!

Accessing Databases

 

Image result for database

 

"What is a database?"

"A database in its simplest form typically consists of a single file containing multiple records ... each of which has data for a particular set of fields" (Oxford English Dictionary 2017)

Databases are digital collections of any kind of material.

"What will I use a database for?"

You will use databases to research quality information pertaining to your particular area of study.

For example, the library system holds many databases pertaining to the Fine Arts.

Researching through a Fine Arts database will make your experience more efficient and enjoyable.

"What is included within a database?"

Any number of things, including videos and journal articles, and even photographs of artwork.

It is a digital collection of related resources.

"How do I locate art related databases?"

Follow this path: library.pitt.edu (link is above) - Databases - search By Subject - Art and Architecture

Accessing Articles

  • Visit library.pitt.edu.
  • In main search box, type in topic.
  • Enter.
  • Using filters on left hand side - choose "articles" and "peer review" for "academic journals."
  • Use other filters for date of publication, etc.
  • Click article title.
  • Read abstract - if article suits your needs then read "introduction" and "conclusion."
  • If article still suits your needs - read entire article and save/ print it.

Accessing Books & Ebooks

  • Visit library.pitt.edu.
  • In main search box, type in topic, title, or author.
  • Enter.
  • Using filters on left hand side - choose "books/ ebooks." 
  • Click book title.
  • Print Books: Check availability.
  • Locate book if it is in our library.  Or, request it be delivered to our library.
  • If using "Get It," request pick up at Bradford Campus.
  • You can also request books through Interlibrary Loan or EZ Borrow - just ask one of us!
  • Books are delivered within 3-4 days.  It is easy!
  • E Books: Click the title, then click "E Book."