The exhibit Courtesy, Manners, and Wit includes works from the Darlington, Nesbitt, and Nancy Selvaggio Picchi Etiquette collections in the Archives & Special Collections. The Picchi Etiquette Collection contains over 350 works of etiquette that date from the 18th century to the 20th century. 

The Elizabeth Nesbitt Collection is focused on children's literature and contains over 12,000 printed works, including artwork, books, and journals published from the 17th century to the present.

Also of note are the George Washington Manuscripts, from the Darlington Collection, and the Nietz 19th Century Textbook Collection. 

The Emily Post Institute

The American Antiquarian Society's A Bibliography of American Children's Books Printed Prior to 1821

"Mystery Man: The Many Faces of Eustace Tilley," by Louis Menand

The Digitized Works of Louis-Maurice Boutet de Monvel

The Darlington Digital Library was created from the first major collection of books, manuscripts, atlases, and maps donated to the University of Pittsburgh. Most of the credit for assembling the Darlington Collection rightly goes to William M. Darlington, an attorney by profession who was born in Pittsburgh in 1815. By the 1840s, Mr. Darlington had developed a keen interest in colonial American history, especially as it related to Western Pennsylvania and the Ohio Valley. He initially acquired books on those subjects, but later he would expand his interests to topics associated with the exploration of the Trans-Mississippi, the Far West, and even world history.

 After Mr. Darlington died in 1889, his wife Mary, who shared her husband’s enthusiasm for American history, continued to acquire materials. Their children, O’Hara, Mary, and Edith, also added to what became a family collection. O’Hara, for example, collected English first editions from the Victorian era. In 1918 they made their initial donation to the University, which was followed in 1925 by the bulk of the estate.

The ULS Digital Research Library has undergone the monumental task of digitizing a significant portion of the Darlington Collection over several years, which is available online in the Darlington Digital Library. Some of the strengths of the collection are geography, early American history, and lithographic portraiture. The Special Collections copy of John James Audubon's Birds of America is also a part of the Darlington Collection, and is one of the many digitized collections available online.