A database is an online collection of articles that you can search by topic or keyword. Databases are great sources for articles because much of the material in ULS databases is the high quality, scholarly research information that most professors want. Most of our databases offer links to the full text of articles. To search a database:
|
ERIC, sponsored by the US Department of Education, is the premier national database of education literature. ERIC covers educational research and literature from 1963 to present, as well as important practitioner materials and news sources. Descriptors are disciplinary terms the ERIC database creators use to identify the major topics covered within a particular article, book or item. Descriptors can suggest other keywords you can use in your searching, or identify a more exact disciplinary term for the concepts you are seeking. Create complex searches by combining multiple keywords. Once you decide on your keywords, you can combine them to create focused complex searches.
|
|
Field Searching: Full ERIC records are made up of field of information -- the title of the item is listed in the Title field, the author’s name is listed in the Author field, etc. You can use these fields when you search by focusing your search for a term to a particular informational field. For instance, if you wanted articles by Benjamin Spock, you could search for Spock in AU Author field. This will give you results where Spock is an author.
|
Health and Psychosocial Instruments provides ready access to information on measurement instruments (i.e., questionnaires, etc) in the health fields, psychosocial sciences, organizational behavior, and library and information science.
JSTOR (Journal Storage) is a digital library that provides online access to academic journals, books, and primary sources in the arts, humanities, and social sciences. It is a trusted source for scholarly research and provides access to over 6,000 academic journals, more than 2 million images, and over a thousand books. The platform has a user-friendly interface that makes it easy to search and access high-quality, peer-reviewed content. JSTOR also features advanced tools for research and discovery, including citation analysis and alerts for new content. It is a valuable resource for scholars, students, and researchers in the academic community.
This scholarly collection provides journal coverage for most academic areas of study, including biological sciences, economics, communications, computer sciences, engineering, language and linguistics, arts and literature, medical sciences and women's studies. This is an EBSCOHost database.
