Text Creation Partnership (18th century print XML files)Creates standardized, accurate XML/SGML encoded electronic text editions of early print books. They transcribe and mark up the text from the millions of page images in ProQuest's Early English Books Online, Gale Cengage's Eighteenth Century Collections Online, and Readex's Evans Early American Imprints.
Corpus of Contemporary American English (COCA)Contains more than 450 million words of text equally divided among spoken, fiction, popular magazines, newspapers, and academic texts. It includes 20 million words each year from 1990-2012.
COCA (Corpus of Contemporary American English)This link opens in a new windowThe corpus contains more than one billion words of text (25+ million words each year 1990-2019) from eight genres: spoken, fiction, popular magazines, newspapers, academic texts (updated March 2020): TV and Movies subtitles, blogs, and other web pages.
Individual users need to create an account to log on to the corpora.
Early English Books seeks to be a comprehensive collection of all books, pamphlets and broadsides published in the English language in any country from earliest times through 1700. This includes books on philosophy, religion, science, politics, exploration and poetry, prose and drama. Contains over 96,000 titles -- 230 years of English printing.
21 primary source collections are cross-searchable, including NCCO, ECCO, 19th century British and U.S. newspapers, the Economist, Daily Mail, Illustrated London, Financial Times and the (London) Times archives.
Eighteenth Century Collections Online digitally captures this influential period and provides new research opportunities in ways previously unavailable. Eighteenth Century Collections Online includes a variety of materials -- from books and directories, Bibles, sheet music and sermons to advertisements -- and works by many well-known and lesser-known authors.
Nineteenth Century Collections Online is a multi-year global digitization and publishing program focusing on archival collections of primary sources providing full-text, fully searchable content. Collection is in both Western and non-Western languages.
Includes British national and regional newspapers between 1732-1950 including those from the Midlands, as well as Scotland, Ireland and Wales. Special attention is given to newspapers that helped lead particular political and social movements like Home Rule.
Cover to cover access to The Listener, featuring such literary notables as W. H. Auden, T. S. Eliot, E. M. Forster, Philip Larkin, George Orwell, Sylvia Plath, Bertrand Russell, Virginia Woolf and others.
American Periodicals Series Online (APS Online) includes digitized images of the pages of American magazines and journals published from colonial days to the dawn of the 20th century. Some publications include Benjamin Franklin's General Magazine and the popular magazine Vanity Fair.
The AAS Historical Periodicals Collection contains more than 6,500 historical periodical titles dating from 1691 to 1877, arranged into five series. The collection represents over two centuries of print culture, ranging from early works imported by the colonists to later titles published on American soil on the eve of the Revolution and during the early republic. Subjects covered in the collection reach into every facet of American life, including science, literature, medicine, agriculture, women’s fashion, family life, and religion. The five series can be searched simultaneously or individually.
Asian American Drama contains 70 plays by 17 playwrights, together with detailed, fielded information on related productions, theaters, production companies, and more. When complete, the collection will include more than 250 plays, of which some 50% have never been published before.
Heinemann's African Writers Series publishes key texts of modern African literature. This online edition includes over 250 volumes of fiction, poetry, drama and non-fictional prose, including works by Chinua Achebe, Ama Ata Aidoo and Steve Biko.
When complete, Black Drama will contain the full text of 1,200 plays written from the mid-1800s to the present by more than 100 playwrights from North America, English-speaking Africa, the Caribbean, and other African diaspora countries. Database is divided into three sections: Part 1 covers writings of the Harlem Renaissance, Part 2 covers the Black Arts movements of the sixties and seventies while Part 3 brings together plays from the international sphere.
Black Women Writers will contain approximately 100,000 pages of fiction, nonfiction, and poetry by women from North America, Africa and the Caribbean. It will also present essays by scholars and feminists about the history of feminism and genre studies in these regions.
This resource provides an extensive collection of manuscript materials for the study of medieval travel writing in fact and in fantasy. The main focus is accounts of journeys to the Holy Land, India and China. The core of the material is a magnificent collection of medieval manuscripts from libraries across Europe and dating from the 13th to the 16th centuries.