Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Course & Subject Guides
Physical Properties on the Web
These resources contain a variety of property information for a wide range of chemical substances. Knovel is a subscription database, so use Secure Remote Access when searching it from off-campus.
Knovel Critical Tables
This compilation is a part of the Knovel database. Search for standard properties such as melting point, boiling point, density, and more.
Chemical substance records in this catalog often include common properties such as melting point, boiling point, and vapor pressure. Links to MSDSs may lead to additional properties.
Compound records in PubChem include lists of various chemical and physical properties. PubChem is maintained by the National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI) of the National Library of Medicine.
ChemSpider records for chemical substances often include common properties such as melting point, boiling point, specific gravity, and solubility. ChemSpider is maintained as a free database by the Royal Society of Chemistry.
Safety Data Sheets
A Safety Data Sheet (formerly Material Safety Data Sheet, MSDS) for a chemical substance usually contains a variety of property information for the substance.
Knovel is a collection of electronic handbooks and reference books that is searchable for compound property information. It is accessible through the Databases A-Z list and through PittCat+.
This database contains actual values for a variety of physical properties for many of the millions of chemical substances in the database - inorganic, organic, and organometallic.
Chemical substance records may include selected physical properties, both predicted (or calculated) and experimental.
You will need to register
for your personal SciFinder account before you can search this database.
It’s advisable to check the instructions before registering and choosing a username and password. You must use a computer connected to the Pitt network and enter your Pitt email address when registering.