This guide is designed to help students enrolled in ENG 0100 Introduction to College Composition, ENG 0101 English Composition 1, and ENG 0102 English Composition 2 complete research assignments, papers, and projects.
Use Google Scholar to find articles from a wide variety of academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories and universities, as well as scholarly articles available across the web.
General Databases
Individual databases are available from the Databases A-Z list at the Pitt Digital Library. Scroll and click on the database title.
This scholarly collection provides journal coverage for most academic areas of study, including biological sciences, economics, communications, computer sciences, engineering, language and linguistics, arts and literature, medical sciences and women's studies. This is an EBSCOHost database.
America: History and Life is a comprehensive bibliography of articles on the history and culture of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present. Each volume offers abstracts and citations for some 8,000 articles appearing in over 2,000 journals published worldwide in history, related humanities, and the social sciences.
Business Source Complete provides full-text business journals and hundreds of scholarly, peer-reviewed journals covering all aspects of business; marketing, management, economics, finance, accounting, international business and more.
This resource includes bibliographic records and full text covering essential areas related to criminal justice and criminology. The increasing globalization of criminology is reflected in Criminal Justice Abstracts with Full Text’s coverage of hundreds of journals from around the world.
ERIC, sponsored by the US Department of Education, is the premier national bibliographic database of education literature. ERIC consists of two files: Resources in Education and Current Index. The database also includes the full text of ERIC Digest Records. Ebsco and CSA are subscription services that offer sophisticated interfaces. The third option is to search the database via the government's web portal.
This resource provides more than 550 scholarly full text journals focusing on many medical disciplines and coverage of nursing and allied health is particularly strong. This database includes the Clinical Pharmacology database, providing access to up-to-date, concise and clinically relevant drug monographs for all U.S. prescription drugs, hard-to-find herbal and nutritional supplements, over-the-counter products and new drugs.
PsycINFO provides indexing coverage of all document types, including journal articles, book chapters, books, dissertations, and technical reports. The database is international in scope.
SocINDEX is a comprehensive sociology database featuring citations with subject headings from a sociology specific thesaurus. It contains informative abstracts for more than 590 core journals dating back to 1985.
