Writing and Citing - Biology and Chemistry Capstone - Greensburg Campus

Citation Styles

More Information about APA Style

Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association, 7th ed.
Publication Date: 2019
The seventh edition has been thoroughly revised and updated to reflect best practices in scholarly writing and publishing. Additions include resources for students on writing and formatting annotated bibliographies; guidelines on citing course materials; a chapter on bias-free language guidelines; and more.

Official APA Homepage
An American Psychology Association hosted website with information on APA citation and related resources.
Purdue Online Writing Lab - APA
Online writing lab with formatting tips and sample papers. The "Cite your source automatically" feature on Purdue Owl pages is part of another website, and not recommended.
Excelsior Writing Lab
Citation examples, videos, and formatting guides for MLA, APA, and Chicago styles.

The 9th edition of the MLA Handbook was published in 2021. In this update, the format for both in-text and Works Cited citations is the same as the 8th edition. The 9th edition also includes this clarification on citing a film/DVD.

A film/DVD:
Generally list film directors as key contributors in the Contributor element
Blade Runner. 1982. Directed by Ridley Scott, director’s cut, Warner Bros., 1992.

MLA Handbook, 9th Edition by The Modern Language Association of America
Publication Date: 2021

Official MLA Style Homepage
A Modern Language Association hosted website with information on MLA citation and related resources.
Purdue Online Writing Lab - MLA
Online writing lab with formatting tips and sample papers. The "Cite your source automatically" feature on Purdue Owl pages is part of another website, and not recommended.
Excelsior Writing Lab
Citation examples, videos, and formatting guides for MLA, APA, and Chicago styles.

Citation Styles: APA, MLA, Chicago, Turabian, IEEE
by ULS Librarian Last Updated Oct 9, 2024 28386 views this year

More Information about Chicago Manual of Style

The Chicago Manual of Style, 18th Edition
Publication Date: 2024-09-19

Chicago Manual of Style Online
Fully searchable version of the standard Chicago Manual of Style, including a Quick Guide for sample citations. Chicago Style Q&A as well as examples of style sheets, letters, and forms are also available on the site.
Official Chicago Manual Style Quick Guide
A quick guide with citation examples offered by the Chicago Style manual homepage.
Excelsior Writing Lab
Citation examples, videos, and formatting guides for MLA, APA, and Chicago styles.

More Information about Turabian Style

A Manual for Writers of Research Papers, Theses, and Dissertations, Ninth Edition by Kate L. Turabian
Ask at your library's circulation desk about the availability of this book.

Turabian Citation Guide
A quick guide on proper Turabian style citation offered by the Chicago University Press.

More information about IEEE Style

IEEE Editorial Style Manual
The Institute for Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE) is a professional organization supporting many branches of engineering, computer science, and information technology. IEEE citation style includes in-text citations, numbered in square brackets, which refer to the full citation listed in the reference list at the end of the paper. The reference list is organized numerically, not alphabetically.

Murdoch University IEEE guide
This is an excellent guide that covers all aspects of citing in IEEE style. Check out the Reference List Entries page for details about citing a variety of material types.

More Citation Formats for the Sciences

Writing in the Biological Sciences - Pittsburgh Campus
by Margarete Bower Last Updated Oct 9, 2024 87 views this year

American Society for Microbiology (ASM)
Guidelines and examples from ASM.
CSE Citation Style Examples
This guide from The Ohio State University Libraries includes examples of citations for articles, books and other resources.
American Chemical Society (ACS)
Guidelines and citation examples from ACS.

Style Guides & Tips

Scientific Style and Format by Council of Science Editors
Call Number: Ask at Millstein Desk
For more than fifty years, authors, editors, and publishers have turned to Scientific Style and Format (CSE manual) for authoritative recommendations on all matters of writing style and citation.
Writing Undergraduate Lab Reports
Call Number: T11 .L625 2017
Writing clear, impactful reports is a crucial skill for science students, but few books focus on this area for the undergraduate. Particularly useful for biology students, this text adopts a hands-on approach, using example reports and published papers as models to put guidance into practice.
Scientific Writing = Thinking in Words
Call Number: ebook
This book makes communicating research easier and encourages researchers to write confidently. It is an ideal reference for researchers preparing journal articles, posters, conference presentations, reviews and popular articles; for students preparing theses; and for researchers whose first language is not English.

University of Pittsburgh Library System

Course & Subject Guides

Biology and Chemistry Capstone - Greensburg Campus

Contact a Librarian

Need research help? We'll meet with you!

Citing Sources Using a Citation Manager

Tips for Word

Citation Styles

More Citation Formats for the Sciences

Style Guides & Tips