Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Course & Subject Guides

Black History Month 2021: The Black Family @ Pitt: Primary Sources

Pitt events and resources highlighting the 2021 Black History Month theme of the Black Family

Primary Sources Documenting Black Families

These materials are housed in the Archives & Special Collections Department at the University of Pittsburgh. Collections featured on this tab link to digitized content from these archival collections, so you can discover, read, and view from the comfort of your computer!

Have questions? Contact us

These materials are housed in the Archives & Special Collections Department at the University of Pittsburgh. Collections on this tab do not contain digitized content, but can be accessed by contacting us here!

 


Primary Sources are...

  • Original materials that provide direct evidence or first-hand testimony of a participant or eyewitness of an event or topic.
  • Primary sources can be contemporary sources created at the time when the event occurred (e.g., letters and newspaper articles) or later (such as, memoirs and oral history interviews).
  • Primary sources may be published or unpublished.  Unpublished sources are unique materials (e.g., family papers) often referred to as archives and manuscripts.
  • What constitutes a primary source varies by discipline. How the researcher uses the source generally determines whether it is a primary source or not.
 
This information adapted from Finding Primary Sources @ Pitt