Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Course & Subject Guides

Black History Month 2021: The Black Family @ Pitt: Events @ Pitt

Pitt events and resources highlighting the 2021 Black History Month theme of the Black Family

Events @ Pitt

February 11: "George Barbour: Journalist" Screening and Discussion

Presented by the University Library System and Office for Equity, Diversity, and Inclusion, in partnership with Ken Love, filmmaker, and Dr. Laurence Glasco, Department of History

Date: Thursday, February 11, 2021

Time: 7:00pm - 8:30pm

Location: Online (Registration is required)

Join us for a screening of filmmaker Ken Love's documentary featuring a compilation of interviews with George Barbour talking about his career leading up to and including the seminal Selma-to-Montgomery March. A discussion on the historical influence of Black journalists and matters around Black journalism, featuring contemporaries of Barbour and Pitt students, will follow the screening.

In 1965, as the first African-American KDKA Radio reporter, George Barbour marched 54-miles alongside civil rights activists including Martin Luther King Jr., interviewing participants, including John Lewis, along the way. A Pittsburgh native and University of Pittsburgh alum, Barbour stands as an important and resilient journalist from a revolutionary period of U.S. history.

Feb 18: African American Read-In

Presented by the University Library System and School of  Education

Date: Thursday, February 18, 2021

Time: 10:00 - 11:00 a.m. EST

Location: Online

Details forthcoming.

Feb 18: Rooted in Strength: The Resiliency of Black Families

Presented by the University Library System and the Homewood Community Engagement Center

Date: Thursday, February 18, 2021

Time: 3:00 - 4:30 p.m. EST

Location: Online (Registration is required)

Black Families are resilient.  Join us for an inspiring panel discussion and learn about ways to better support your family through the pandemic and beyond!

The panel will be moderated by Aliya Durham, Director of Community Engagement, School of Social Work, University of Pittsburgh

Featured speakers:

  • Charlene Foggie Barnett, of the Carnegie Museum and African American Genealogical Society
  • Tyree Ford, Assistant Director of Social Services at Alma Illery / Primary Care Health Services, Inc.
  • Peggy Harris, CEO of Three Rivers Youth
  • Jackie Patterson, CEO of Three Rivers Adoption
  • Ryamond Robinson, Manager of Social Services at Homewood Children's Village

TBD: August Wilson talk

Date:

Time:

Location:

Details forthcoming.

Throughout February: Highlights from the University Library System's Distinctive Collections- featuring archives of Black history

Date: Continuous

Time: Check hours for Hillman Library

Location: 3rd Floor Exhibition Space, Hillman Library (requires Pitt ID)

Highlights from the University Library System's Distinctive Collections showcases original archival materials and high-quality reproductions from ULS Distinctive Collection areas Archives & Special Collections, Center for American Music, Theodore M. Finney Music Library, and Frick Fine Arts Library. Visitors can learn about Dr. Jean Hamilton Walls, the first African-American woman to receive her bachelor's and doctorate degrees from the University of Pittsburgh,  examine jazz pianist and Pittsburgh native Erroll Garner’s original compositions, and view records documenting Black theatre in Pittsburgh in the later 20th century.

 

Throughout February: Highlights from the August Wilson Archive

Date: Continuous

Time: Check hours for Hillman Library

Location: 3rd Floor Exhibition Space, Hillman Library (requires Pitt ID)

Materials on display in this exhibit will rotate periodically while the August Wilson Archive is being processed by Archives & Special Collections staff.  Currently we are highlighting materials relating to Wilson’s first play to appear on Broadway, Ma Rainey’s Black Bottom.