Much like any act of reading, an artists’ book is a physical experience that allows a connection with the medium.
...
The artists’ book invites us to hold it and turn through its pages.
—Printed Matter
We strive to create multiple points of access to our our collection. This page provides information about browsing our artists' books and zines digitally and how to coordinate with our library staff to view non-circulating items.
Selections from the collection: [The Spice Series: Concoctions 1]. Islam Aly (2013) | Non-circulating; to view please ask for assistance.
Selections from the collection: [The Spice Series: Concoctions 1]. Islam Aly (2013) | Non-circulating; to view please ask for assistance.
Selections from the collection: [The Spice Series: Concoctions 1]. Islam Aly (2013) | Non-circulating; to view please ask for assistance.
Selections from the collection: Daily News Book. Eric Doeringer (2017) | Non-circulating; to view please ask for assistance.
Selections from the collection: Daily News Book. Eric Doeringer (2017) | Non-circulating; to view please ask for assistance.
Selections from the collection: Daily News Book. Eric Doeringer (2017) | Non-circulating; to view please ask for assistance.
Selections from the collection: Collision. Pierre Jeanneau (2019) | Non-circulating; to view please ask for assistance.
Selections from the collection: Scrap Compositions. Cory Siegler (2017) | Non-circulating; to view please ask for assistance.
Selections from the collection: Scrap Compositions. Cory Siegler (2017) | Non-circulating; to view please ask for assistance.
Selections from the collection: Scrap Compositions. Cory Siegler (2017) | Non-circulating; to view please ask for assistance.
Selections from the collection: Tracks: A Journal of Artists' Writings, vol. 3 no. 1. Herbert George (1977) | Non-circulating; to view please ask for assistance.
Selections from the collection: Tracks: A Journal of Artists' Writings, vol. 3 no. 1. Herbert George (1977) | Non-circulating; to view please ask for assistance.
Selections from the collection: Tracks: A Journal of Artists' Writings, vol. 3 no. 1. Herbert George (1977) | Non-circulating; to view please ask for assistance.
Selections from the collection: Table for One. Anna Strain (n.d) | Non-circulating; to view please ask for assistance.
Selections from the collection: Table for One. Anna Strain (n.d) | Non-circulating; to view please ask for assistance.
Note: This kind of searching only goes so far, so please get in touch. We are happy to make recommendations:
uls-fineartslibrary@pitt.edu
Artists' books are interactive objects and we welcome curious viewers, student researchers, and artists seeking inspiration alike.
Email us to schedule a visit for yourself or your class.
If there are specific titles or types of books you are interested in viewing we can curate a selection from the collection. Our curated lists of artists' books are examples of how researchers and visitors have oriented themselves to the collection.
Visits take place in the Frick Fine Arts Library and are hosted by our library staff.
Image: Guests interact with Paper Paper Film by Imin Yeh (2019)
Although many of the artists' books in our collection require special care and are non-circulating—meaning they cannot be checked out and must be viewed in the library—a handful are available for regular use. This is a great way to begin your exploration of artists' books. The PDF linked below includes a longer list of titles that can be checked out.
There are many ways to interact with the artists' books at Frick Fine Arts Library. The curated lists below are examples of how graduate students, undergraduate workers, class groups, and others have used the collection for research and instruction.
The lists are organized by topic, from books about water to printing techniques.
These lists are not comprehensive; instead, we hope these samplings demonstrate the wide range of books in our collection and spark inspiration for how you might use our collection for your own inquiry, research, or teaching.
