Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Course & Subject Guides
Online Digital Collections
Many publications and maps related to African-American History have been digitized and made available online.
African-American Collections at the Library of Congress
From the Library's Digital Collections. Includes pamphlets, photographs, books, and miscellaneous papers relating to African-American History.
African-American History Project
The African American History Project (AAHP) is an archive of 300+ oral history interviews conducted with African Americans around Alachua County and the American South.
Documenting the American South
Documenting the American South is a digital publishing initiative that provides Internet access to texts, images, and audio files related to southern history, literature, and culture.
Freedmen & Southern Society Project
The Freedmen and Southern Society Project was established in 1976 to capture the essence of that revolution by depicting the drama of emancipation in the words of the participants: liberated slaves and defeated slaveholders, soldiers and civilians, common folk and the elite, Northerners and Southerners.
Making of America - Cornell University
A digital library of primary sources in American social history from the antebellum period through reconstruction.
Making of America - University of Michigan
A digital library of primary sources in American social history primarily from the antebellum period through reconstruction. This site has a number of primary sources covering the Civil War period (1861-1865).
Slave Voyages Database
Includes data, images, and manuscripts about the Trans-Atlantic and Intra-American slave trades. Contains records of 46,000 voyages from 1514-1866.
Visualizing Emancipation organizes documentary evidence about when, where, and how slavery fell apart during the American Civil War. It shows how emancipation occurred unevenly across the South, beginning before the first major battles and ending after the end of the Confederacy.