Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Course & Subject Guides
Legislative & Legal History
The world's most comprehensive access to U.S. legislative information from Congressional Information Services. Includes access to many full-text Congressional publications, bills, laws, regulations, committee information, information about current members of Congress, and much more.
U.S. Congressional Serial Set
The US Congressional Serial Set contains all of the US Senate and House of Representatives Reports, Documents, and Journals and constitutes a rich source of primary source material on all aspects of American history. Upon completion, the digital version of the Serial Set will consist of approximately 13,800 volumes and over 12 million pages and will cover the time period 1817 through 1994.
Hein Online indexes legal and legislative information available for U.S. states and territories. HeinOnline has four major library collections: the Law Journal Library, the Federal Register Library, the Treaties and Agreements Library, and the U.S. Supreme Court Library.
Executive Branch & Presidential Papers
U.S. Executive Branch Documents from 1789-1909 are available on microfiche in off-site storage facility. To find documents, please consult the CIS Index to U.S. Executive Branch Documents, 1789-1909.
The American Presidency Project
This is the only online resource that has consolidated, coded, and organized into a single searchable database The Messages and Papers of the Presidents: Washington - Taft (1789-1913).
Census of Population and Housing (Decennial Census)
Available from the U.S. Census Bureau, these are PDF versions of the printed volumes. The online collection is not complete. Please see the Census volumes in the Government Documents collection on the ground floor of Hillman for the complete volumes.
Social Explorer is mainly an interactive map of demographic information drawn from the US Census. Users can examine geographic areas while selecting the type of data to be shown, such as population density or income level. Note: Creation of a Personal Account is required to fully access all Social Explorer features.