Providing an exhaustive and organized overview of Jewish life and knowledge from the Second Temple period to the contemporary State of Israel, from Rabbinic to modern Yiddish literature, from Kabbalah to "Americana" and from Zionism to the contribution of Jews to world cultures,

The first three volumes of The Cambridge History of Judaism cover the history of the Jews from the Exile in 587 B.C.E. to the early Roman period extending into the third century C.E. A comprehensive examination is made of all the relevant literary and archeological sources, and special attention is given to the interaction of Iranian, Semitic, Hellenistic and Roman cultures. The contributors include both Jewish and Gentile scholars from many countries, and this History thus helps to deliver the study of Jewish history and Christian origins from geographical and religious limitations, and contributes to a deeper understanding and a broader tolerance.

The first volume in this comprehensive work is an exploration of the history of Jewish philosophy from its beginnings in antiquity to the early modern period, with a particular emphasis on medieval Jewish thought. Unlike most histories, encyclopedias, guides, or companions of Jewish philosophy, this volume is organized by philosophical topic rather than by chronology or individual figures.

The Oxford Handbook of the Abrahamic Religions includes authoritative yet accessible studies on a wide variety of topics dealing comparatively with Judaism, Christianity, and Islam, as well as with the interactions between the adherents of these religions throughout history. This Handbook includes both critical and supportive perspectives on the very concept of the Abrahamic religions and discussions on the role of the figure of Abraham in these religions. It features 32 essays, by the foremost scholars in the field, on the historical interactions between Abrahamic communities.

The Atlas includes more than one hundred maps, with accompanying text, that give an in-depth review of Jewish history throughout the world from the 5th to the 17th centuries." "The Atlas covers milestone events of Jewish history during this period: the dispersion of the Jews in the fourth and fifth centuries up to the Crusades; the Black Death; the expulsion from Spain; the persecutions of 1648 in eastern Europe and the Sabbatean movement.

Traces the history and experience of the Jewish world from ancient to modern times in a volume organized into sections on history, culture, and the Jewish world today.

The book begins by looking at the origins of the Jewish faith, in the wider context of the ancient civilizations, their technology, warfare styles and trade networks. It contains an extensive section on the Middle Ages. The book wraps up with an examination of the Jewish experience in World War II and the nineteenth century followed by the legacy of the Jews. There is authoritative coverage of such crucial topics as the great diasporas, the flowering of Yiddish culture in Europe, the pogroms and persecutions, the rebirth of Zionism in the 19th Century, the foundation of modern Israel, the Arab-Israeli conflict, Jewish sects and the way of life of Jews inside and outside their homeland in the modern world.

The Dictionary covers more than three millennia of Jewish religious thought, custom, law, and practice, from traditional approaches to Reform, Conservative, Reconstructionist, and post-denominational Judaism. Brief definitions and longer essays, all supplemented with bibliographies, enlighten readers about the major figures, folklore, and events in the history of Judaism throughout the world.

Newly revised and updated to include new maps, this is the seventh edition of Martin Gilbert's atlas tracing the world-wide migrations of the Jews from ancient Mesopotamia to modern Israel. It spans over four thousand years of history in over 140 maps. The themes covered include:* prejudice and violence* migrations and movements* society and status* trade and culture* politics, government and war.

Experts from all over the world contribute entries ranging from 200 to 1000 words broadly, covering the humanities, arts, social sciences, sport and popular culture, and 5000-word essays contextualize the shorter entries, and provide overviews to aspects of culture in the Jewish world. The book now contains up-to-date bibliographies, suggestions for further reading, comprehensive cross referencing, and a full index.