Locating Secondary Sources - The Gilded Age & Progressive Era - Bradford Campus

What are secondary sources?

Secondary sources can help point you toward relevant primary sources.

"Works that interpret, analyze, and discuss the evidence provided by primary sources (e.g., scholarly books and articles).
Secondary sources are generally a second-hand account or observation at least one step removed from the event.
Secondary sources, however, can be considered to be primary sources depending on the context of their use. For example, Ken Burns' documentary of the Civil War is a secondary source for Civil War researchers, but a primary source for those studying documentary filmmaking."

Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
This scholarly collection provides journal coverage for most academic areas of study, including biological sciences, economics, communications, computer sciences, engineering, language and linguistics, arts and literature, medical sciences and women's studies. This is an EBSCOHost database.
America: History & Life (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
America: History and Life is a comprehensive bibliography of articles on the history and culture of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present. Each volume offers abstracts and citations for some 8,000 articles appearing in over 2,000 journals published worldwide in history, related humanities, and the social sciences.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR (Journal Storage) is a digital library that provides online access to academic journals, books, and primary sources in the arts, humanities, and social sciences. It is a trusted source for scholarly research and provides access to over 6,000 academic journals, more than 2 million images, and over a thousand books. The platform has a user-friendly interface that makes it easy to search and access high-quality, peer-reviewed content. JSTOR also features advanced tools for research and discovery, including citation analysis and alerts for new content. It is a valuable resource for scholars, students, and researchers in the academic community.

American Nineteenth Century History
" American Nineteenth Century History is a peer-reviewed, transatlantic journal devoted to the history of the United States during the long nineteenth century."
The Journal of African American History
"Founded in 1916 as The Journal of Negro History by Dr. Carter G. Woodson, The Journal of African American History (JAAH) is the leading scholarly publication in the field of African American history."
Journal of American History
"The Journal of American History is the leading scholarly publication and journal of record in the field of American history and is the major resource for the study, investigation, and teaching of our country's heritage. Each volume of the quarterly journal contains interpretive essays on all aspects of American history, plus reviews of books, films, movies, television programs, museum exhibits and resource guides."
Journal of the Gilded Age
"The Journal of the Gilded Age and Progressive Era, published quarterly, provides original essays, including online projects, and reviews scholarly books on all aspects of U.S. history for the time period from 1865 through 1920. "
Journal of Urban History
"For over thirty years, the Journal of Urban History has provided scholars and professionals with the latest research, analyses, and discussion on the history of cities and urban societies throughout the world. "