Find Resources Using Library Databases - Environmental Science - Bradford Campus

Suggested Environmental Science Databases

Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
This scholarly collection provides journal coverage for most academic areas of study, including biological sciences, economics, communications, computer sciences, engineering, language and linguistics, arts and literature, medical sciences and women's studies. This is an EBSCOHost database.
ACS Symposium Series This link opens in a new window
The ACS Symposium Series contains peer-reviewed books developed from the ACS technical divisions' symposia. The series covers a broad range of topics including agricultural and food chemistry, cellulose and renewable materials, chemical education, organic chemistry, polymer chemistry, materials, and many others.
American Chemical Society ACS Journals This link opens in a new window
Provides access to more than 40 ACS journals, covering chemical biology, analytical chemistry, biochemistry, and more.
Biosis Previews This link opens in a new window
BIOSIS Previews combines the content of both Biological Abstracts and Biological Abstracts/RRM (Reports, Reviews, Meetings), thus providing comprehensive coverage of nearly 5,500 life science journals as well as 1,500 items from international meetings, review articles, books, book chapters, patents, and software reviews.
GeoRef This link opens in a new window
The GeoRef database covers the geology of North America from 1693 to the present and the geology of the rest of the world from 1933 to the present. The database includes references to all publications of the U.S. Geological Survey.
GeoScienceWorld This link opens in a new window
Full-text access to geoscience journals.
GreenFILE This link opens in a new window
Comprised of scholarly and general interest titles, as well as government documents and reports, GreenFILE offers perspective on the positive and negative ways humans affect the ecology.
HeinOnline This link opens in a new window
Contains a Water Rights and Resources which contains documents to understanding the complex interplay of state and federal laws that govern all aspects of water in society, from its municipal use to restoring its pristine condition. Collecting congressional documents, books, legislative histories on major legislation, and Supreme Court briefs on related cases, this collection touches on a wide range of water issues. Topics covered include irrigation, hydropower, water conservation, drinking water quality, and tribal water rights.”
JoVe This link opens in a new window
A video collection dedicated to teaching laboratory fundamentals through simple, easy to understand video demonstrations.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR (Journal Storage) is a digital library that provides online access to academic journals, books, and primary sources in the arts, humanities, and social sciences. It is a trusted source for scholarly research and provides access to over 6,000 academic journals, more than 2 million images, and over a thousand books. The platform has a user-friendly interface that makes it easy to search and access high-quality, peer-reviewed content. JSTOR also features advanced tools for research and discovery, including citation analysis and alerts for new content. It is a valuable resource for scholars, students, and researchers in the academic community.
PubMed This link opens in a new window
PubMed comprises more than 22 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites.
Reaxys This link opens in a new window
The Reaxys database provides detailed information on the reactions and properties, including bioactivities, of millions of chemical substances, along with chemical catalog information and literature references. Specialty features such as structure and reaction searching are included.
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
ScienceDirect contains over 25% of the world's science, technology and medicine full text and bibliographic information.
SpringerLink This link opens in a new window
SpringerLink is an integrated full-text database for journals and books published by Springer
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Web of Science provides access to Science Citation Index, Social Science Citation Index, and Arts and Humanities Citation Index.
Wiley InterScience Journals This link opens in a new window
Wiley-Blackwell is the international scientific, technical, medical, and scholarly publishing business of John Wiley & Sons, with strengths in every major academic and professional field and partnerships with many of the world's leading societies.

Google Scholar

Looking for a specific article and cannot remember what database you were in? Use the Google Scholar search box below or click the Google Scholar link above to be sure you are logged in as a Pitt user. As a Pitt user, Google Scholar search results will show links to full-text material available within the University Library System.

Note: You must authenticate through the Pitt system to gain this access.

University of Pittsburgh Library System

Course & Subject Guides

Environmental Science - Bradford Campus

How to Read Scholarly Articles

Suggested Environmental Science Databases

Google Scholar

Government Websites

Database Tutorial