Skip to main content

Courtesy, Manners, and Wit: An Etiquette Sampler, 16th Century to the Present, Fall 2016 @ Pitt Special Collections: The Exhibit: Home

The Special Collections Department at the University of Pittsburgh presents an exhibition of works from the Darlington, Nesbitt, and Picchi collections.

Contact Us

 

Special Collections Department

363 Hillman Library

3960 Forbes Avenue

Pittsburgh, PA 15260

Phone: 412-648-8190

Fax 412-648-7887

Emailuls-specialcollections@mail.pitt.edu

Hours:
M-F: 9:00am-4:45pm
 

Exhibit Catalogue


This LibGuide was created by Maureen Jones, Fall 2016 HAA Exhibit Design Intern, and overseen by Special Collections staff member Margaret McGill.

Introduction

Etched title page from Follies of the Year with the caricature of Punch.

Title page from Follies of the Year, [1868].

 

Presented by the University of Pittsburgh

Special Collections Department

Fall 2016-Spring 2017

There is a story that the Scottish gardener who worked for Louis XIV, the King of France, at the Palace of Versailles during the 17th century, placed 'étiquettes,' or labels, along designated pathways directing the courtiers and visitors to the palace grounds where to walk. The king later decreed that all members of his court must observe the étiquettes, and it is this word that has evolved to describe the correct rules of social behavior in human society.

Etiquette is a dynamic and ever-changing system of codified rules of appropriate human behavior, which includes civil discourse, polite conversation, fashion, manners, and humor and wit. This exhibit has been curated by the Special Collections Department and features works of etiquette from the Darlington, Nesbitt, and Picchi collections written from the 16th century to the present and is arranged as follows: a sampler of Italian and English works, an American sampler, a children’s literature sampler, an etiquette sampler for adults, and a sampler of women writers of etiquette.

Eleanor Roosevelt
Eleanor Roosevelt, as pictured on the cover of her Book of Common Sense Etiquette.

Acknowledgements

​This exhibit has been curated by the Special Collections Department and features works of etiquette from the Darlington, Nesbitt, and Picchi collections written from the 16th century to the present.

We would like to thank the University Library Systems’ Archives Service Center, the Digital Research Library, and the Web Services departments for their generous assistance in preparing this exhibit. All materials from the collections are available for research in the Reading Room upon request to the Special Collections Department, 363 Hillman Library, University of Pittsburgh.