Conversions
This is the "Home" page of the "EndNote @ Pitt" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

EndNote @ Pitt   Tags: citation manager, citations, citing, endnote  

Learn how to use EndNote Desktop and EndNote Web for their most common functions.
Last Updated: Mar 31, 2014 URL: http://pitt.libguides.com/endnote Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

EndNote

EndNote is a popular reference management program. You can use it to save and organize your references, insert and format citations and bibliographies, and to search library databases.

Downloading EndNote Desktop
EndNote X7 is available to Pitt students and faculty for free through the Software Download Service at My Pitt. The site gives detailed instructions on the download process.

EndNote Web is the online component of EndNote. All Pitt students and faculty have access to EndNote Web through Pitt's subscription to the Web of Knowledge database. You can sign up for an account at myendnoteweb.com. For verification purposes, you have to do this from a computer on the Pitt network, using your Pitt email address.

Transitioning from RefWorks

Transitioning from RefWorks @ Pitt
by Marian Hampton - Last Updated Aug 20, 2012
After much consideration, the University Library System has decided to end its RefWorks subscription on September 30, 2012. This guide will help you save and move your collection of RefWorks references.
238 views this year
 

An Overview of EndNote X7

 

EndNote Desktop vs. EndNote Web

Review a quick comparison between EndNote Desktop and EndNote Web to learn the importance of using both products in a research environment.

More information can be found here.

Compare features:
EndNote Web
EndNote Web (with EndNote Desktop)
EndNote Desktop
Storage capacity (number of references) 10,000 25,000 unlimited
File attachments   + +
Figure attachments   + +
Capture references from the Web + +  
Import from many databases and OPACs + + +
Cite & format papers with bibliographies + + +
Create & save advanced searches     +
Customize views & displays     +
Edit reference import filters & output styles     +
Use term lists for auto-entry     +
Cite tables, figures, & equations     +
Work Offline (anytime/anywhere)     +
Local Personal Files and Documents     +
High Performance Desktop Environment     +
 

Functions of EndNote

EndNote as a reference and full text organizer with a collaborative Web tool:

  • Group references according to your research projects and attach up to 45 files per record for managing related materials.
  • Locate full text PDF files for you or create a reference when importing a PDF file. Synchronize references and file attachments to your EndNote Web account.
  • Share groups with other EndNote users easily and manage your ResearcherID publication list.

EndNote as a bibliography maker

  • Cite While You Write™ takes the pain out of citing and formatting references in Microsoft Word, and OpenOffice.org Writer 3 for Windows. You can also create bibliographies for other word processors using Format Paper (RTF files).

EndNote as an online search tool

  • You can search online bibliographic resources and retrieve references directly into your EndNote library. You can also export references to EndNote from your favorite online resource (see "Direct Export Providers" in EndNote Help).

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip