Goodrich Titles
This is the "Home" page of the "Elizabeth Nesbitt Collection @ Pitt" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Elizabeth Nesbitt Collection @ Pitt   Tags: children's literature, library science, special collections  

This guide identifies some of the 12,000+ resources available in the Nesbitt Collection. Comprised of children's literature and material related to the history of children and their books, collection items date from the 1600's through the present.
Last Updated: Aug 30, 2013 URL: http://pitt.libguides.com/Nesbitt Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Margaret Hodges

Sarah Margaret Hodges was a Professor Emeritus of the School of Information Sciences at the University of Pittsburgh and used the school's collections for her research. Professor Hodges is responsible for the conception and development of the Elizabeth Nesbitt Room from 1976 through 1990.

She continued to support this collection with her knowledge of and connections to the field of children's literature until her death in December of 2005.


A longer biography can be found from the Literature Resource Center as well as in the PDF below written by Nichole Lavelle.

 

The Inside Story

The following is a transcript of a speech given on May 10,1991 by Mrs. Margaret Hodges on the occasion of the Elizabeth Nesbitt Room Celebration.

The Nesbitt Collection

The Nesbitt Collection is comprised primarily of children's literature and material related to the history of children and their books and media. The collection encompasses more than 12,000 items dating from the 1600's through the present day and incudes books, magazines, audio-visual material, manuscripts, artifacts, and more.

While many of the items are located within Hillman Library in Special Collections or Microforms, a number of items are housed in our Archives Service Center or our Storage Facility.  This research guide describes resources from the Nesbitt Collection and how to access materials from a variety of locations and in a variety of formats.

Accessing the Collection

Many of the Nesbitt collection materials are held in the Special Collections Department at the University of Pittsburgh's Hillman Library.  For questions about the collection, be sure to visit the Special Collections Website or email the department.

Nesbitt items are also located in the University Library System's storage facility.  To request an item from storage:

  1. Perform a PITTCat Classic search
  2. Select the record you would like to request
  3. Select the "Get It!" button at the top of the record
  4. Sign in with your PITT username and password
  5. Change the dropdown menu from Recall to Get It!
  6. Follow the screen directions—select the library you want the book available for pick up.

Complete and submit your request.  You’ll get a screen message when your request has been successfully submitted.  You’ll receive an email notification when the book is on campus to let you know when it will be available for pick up or viewing in a designated area.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip