Skip to main content

African Studies and African Country Resources @ Pitt: Getting Started

This guide provides selected high-quality resources on the global, political, economic, social and cultural aspects of the continent of Africa and its countries. It features individual country pages as well as sources searchable by topic or country.

About this guide ...

This guide identifies scholarly, popular, national and international (and some local) government and non-profit organization sources for African Studies research. This information is not all inclusive and  should be treated as a starting point.

The tabs at the top of the page will connect you to categories of sources and regional African pages.  Individual country pages can be found under the regional tabs.

Access Our Library Anywhere!

Pitt Passport Login Image

Access to full-text library resources from off-campus is easy! 

Search as you normally do, click on the link to full-text, log in with your Pitt email login and password, and you're good to go for your entire searching session! Access will work best if you stay in the same browser.

Need Help? Chat with us!

 

For more ways to ask your question,
please visit Ask Us/FAQs

Africa

See a larger version of this map.   

This map is from the United States Central Intelligence Agency's World Factbook.

 

African Country Research

Africa is the world's second largest continent in area.  The countries differ immensely geographically, politically, socially, economically, and culturally.

The UN Statistics Division has subdivided the African continent into five regions, Northern Africa, Central or Middle Africa , Southern Africa, East Africa, and Western Africa. These subdivisions include the following countries: 

The African Development Bank Group , the African Union and AllAfrica (an African based news aggregrate service) use slightly different Subdivsions. 

This guide includes general resources focused by subject matter and country resources of external web links.  Individual country pages include links to history and culture related websites, as well as news resources and official government websites. 

Click on the country's link above to access the individual country pages.

Liaison Librarian and Reference / Instruction

Lois Kepes
Contact:
G20-X Hillman Library (Ground Floor)

412-648-7578
lois@pitt.edu

Tuesday evening appointments often available.
Website / Blog Page

Credit for Country Pages

This research guide was created by Lois Kepes with the assistance of Dawnlyn Diehl, MLIS Graduate Intern at Hillman Library, University of Pittsburgh (2012 through spring 2014).  Dawnlyn also researched and developed the country pages.

What Do You Need To Do?

Librarians can help you:

Focus a Topic  -  Consult your textbook, your assignment guidelines, or your professor for appropriate topics.  Our "Developing a Research Topic" tutorial may be of helpful.

    Choose a Database and Find Material  -  Use the "Subject Databases" or "Religious/ Islamic Databases" or "PITTCAT+" tab above. 

    Find a Book  -  Use the "Finding Books" or "PITTCAT+" tab above.

      Find Statistics  -  Use the "Statistical Databases" Or "Statistical Web Links" tab above.

      Cite Your Sources  -  Use the "Writing and Citing" tab above.

      Determine if Sources are Scholarly  -  Use the "Evaluting Sources" tab above.