Now in a fully revised and updated 6th edition, reflecting changes in legislation and cutting-edge research, this is a complete introduction to adapted physical education, from the underpinning science to practical teaching strategies and program design. Full of teaching and coaching strategies and techniques, it introduces scientific fundamentals, key legislation, and best practice in designing effective programs. It encourages the reader to consider the individual before the disability and to focus on what learners can do rather than what they can't.

"This succinct guidebook provides educators with the essentials they need to navigate remote learning for students with Individualized Education Programs (IEPs). Filled with practical tools and excerpts from teachers in the field, this book explores tips to share with parents, alongside synchronous and asynchronous strategies that can help make IEPs possible in a remote environment. Ideal for special educators, coaches, service providers, and leaders, this is the go-to resource for supporting IEPs outside the traditional classroom."

Conversations with Families of Children with Disabilities creates a space for diverse families of children with disabilities to share their stories with pre-service and in-service teachers. Specifically designed for professionals preparing to work with families of children with disabilities, this text invites the reader to listen in as families reflect on their personal journeys in conversation with the authors. This powerful book helps educators develop a deeper understanding of families and enhance their capacity for authentic partnerships.

This book is geared towards both pre-and in-service educators and administrators who are seeking to deepen their understanding of parent perspectives and how they can tailor their practices to ensure a more inclusive and inviting environment where culturally and linguistically diverse families are seen and valued in school settings. In addition, professors and instructors in teacher credentialing programs may use this book as a supplement in classes that focus on multicultural education, family and community partnerships, or IEP regulations and compliance.

The purpose of this book is to assist readers to use better practices when developing educationally meaningful and legally sound Individualized Education Programs (IEPs). The core chapters address better practices in conducting assessments, developing present levels of academic achievement and functional performance statements, crafting measurable annual goals, determining special education services, and monitoring and reporting on students' progress. The authors also discuss placing students with disabilities in the least restrictive environment (LRE) and provide forms and graphics to assist in developing students' special education programs.

"Legal Issues in Special Education provides teachers and school administrators with a clearly written, well-organized, and understandable guide from the perspective of the practitioner without formal legal training."

The Essentials of Special Education Advocacy is a valuable tool for preservice and inservice special education professionals who seek to advocate for their students and their profession. This book provides a framework and a step-by-step guide to systematically understand challenges and organize advocacy efforts for special education professionals to continue the historical progress and propel the next generation of change agents.

Design effective, learner-driven math interventions with this accessible and thought-provoking guidebook. Learn how to set up instruction to promote participation and understanding, plan purposeful, targeted tasks, develop student thinking, and create tools to assess student work in a way that measures learning, not just performance. Chapters explore questions that educators frequently struggle with when designing interventions, offering user-friendly research and evidence-based strategies to help overcome common hurdles.

Comprehensive, authoritative, and designed for practical utility, this handbook presents evidence-based approaches for helping struggling readers and those at risk for literacy difficulties or delays. Leading experts explain how current research on all aspects of literacy translates into innovative classroom practices. Chapters include clear descriptions of effective interventions for word recognition, spelling, fluency, vocabulary, comprehension, and writing, complete with concrete examples and teaching scripts. Coverage also encompasses preschool literacy instruction and interventions for older readers, English language learners, and students with learning disabilities, as well as peer-mediated and tutoring approaches.

Learn how to help K-8 students who struggle in math. Now in its second edition, this book provides a variety of clear, practical strategies that can be implemented right away to boost student achievement. Discover how to design lessons that work with struggling learners, implement math intervention recommendations from the Institute of Education Sciences Practice Guides, the National Center on Intensive Intervention, and CEC, use praise and self-motivation more effectively, develop number sense and computational fluency, teach whole numbers and fractions, increase students' problem-solving abilities, and more! Extensive, current examples are provided for each strategy and lesson plans, games, and resources.　

"The SAGE Encyclopedia of Intellectual and Developmental Disorders is aimed at students interested in psychology, counseling, education, social work, psychiatry, health sciences, and more. This encyclopedia will provide an in-depth look at a wide range of disorders, alongside interventions, the latest research translated for an undergraduate audience, historical context, and assessment tools for higher-level students. We will take a truly interdisciplinary approach by also covering sociocultural viewpoints, policy implications, educational applications, ethical issues, and more."

nterventions featured in this book include: Peer-Assisted Learning Strategies (PALS). The Homework, Organization, and Planning Skills (HOPS) Intervention. The Good Behavior Game in the classroom. Check-in, Check-out (CICO). Banking Time, a dyadic intervention to improve teacher-student relationships The Self-Regulation Empowerment Program (SREP). Student Engagement is a must-have resource for researchers, professionals, and graduate students in child and school psychology, educational policy and politics, and family studies.

Technology-Supported Interventions for Students With Special Needs in the 21st Century covers effective assistive modern technologies for overcoming specific challenges encountered by students with special needs for promoting their learning and development, educational attainment, social engagement, self-sufficiency, and quality of life. This book presents an overview of contemporary assistive tools and approaches integrated with digital technologies for students with special needs; shares findings of cutting-edge research on using digital technologies; provides evidence-based digital technology-facilitated tools and strategies for effective diagnosis, treatment, educational intervention, and care of students with special needs; and identifies promising areas and directions for future innovations, applications, and research.

In this book, Sayeski translates research from neuroscience, cognitive psychology, linguistics, and education into accessible information to help teachers and parents unravel the complexities of skilled reading. This book is designed for teachers, administrators, and parents seeking information that can be immediately applied to improve the outcomes of students with dyslexia or who struggle learning to read.

"In an era of curricular changes, experiments, and high-stakes testing, educational measurement and evaluation are more important than ever. In addition to expected entries covering the basics of traditional theories and methods, The SAGE Encyclopedia of Educational Research, Measurement, and Evaluation also covers important sociopolitical issues and trends influencing the future of that research and practice."