Journals & Databases - Romantic Literature - Pittsburgh Campus

Romanticism Related Journals

Romanticism
Romanticism is the journal of Romantic culture and criticism. The only major international scholarly publication of its kind edited and published in Britain, Romanticism offers a much-needed forum for the flourishing diversity of Romantic studies today. Focusing on the period 1750-1850, it publishes critical, historical, textual and bibliographical essays and notes prepared to the highest scholarly standards, reflecting the full range of current methodological and theoretical debate. With its extensive book review section, Romanticism constitutes a vital new arena for scholarly debate in this liveliest field of literary studies.
Studies in Romanticism
Critical essays and thematic issues on all aspects of romanticism in English, but quoted matter may be in any major modern European language (with English translations included); book reviews and lists of books received.
Keats-Shelley Journal
The Keats-Shelley Journal/ has published scholarship on Keats, Shelley, and their immediate circles among the British Romantics since 1953. Now including work on many others writing amid the cultural and literary excitement of the first decades of the nineteenth century, this annual is known for its stimulating essays, informative news and notes, scholarly reviews, and distinctive bibliography of the year’s work on the younger Romantics.
Blake: An Illustrated Quarterly
Blake: An Illustrated Quarterly is a peer-reviewed scholarly journal devoted to William Blake (1757-1827), the British poet, artist, and engraver, and his circle. We publish articles, notes, and book reviews, as well as two annual features: a review of sales of original works by Blake and his followers, and a checklist of publications and discoveries.
The Byron Journal
The Byron Journal is an international publication published twice annually by Liverpool University Press for The Byron Society. The journal publishes scholarly articles and notes on all aspects of Byron's writings and life, and on related topics. Since its inception in 1973, the journal has become widely read in many different countries. Apart from providing a forum for leading authorities on Byron and news of significant events and conferences in the Byron year, the journal also reviews all major works on the poet and prides itself on the speed with which new books are reviewed.
Wordsworth Circle
Publishes contemporary studies of literature, culture & society primarily in England during the Romantic Period from 1760 to 1850.
Eighteenth Century Studies
As the official publication of the American Society for Eighteenth-Century Studies (ASECS), Eighteenth-Century Studies is committed to publishing the best of current writing on all aspects of eighteenth-century culture. The journal selects essays that employ different modes of analysis and disciplinary discourses to explore how recent historiographical, critical, and theoretical ideas have engaged scholars concerned with the eighteenth century.
Victorian Studies
Victorian Studies, which began publication in 1956, is devoted to the study of English culture of the Victorian period. It includes interdisciplinary articles on comparative literature, social and political history, and the histories of education, philosophy, fine arts, economics, law, and science.

Literature Databases

Use these databases to find scholarly materials, including books and peer-reviewed journal articles.

JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR (Journal Storage) is a digital library that provides online access to academic journals, books, and primary sources in the arts, humanities, and social sciences. It is a trusted source for scholarly research and provides access to over 6,000 academic journals, more than 2 million images, and over a thousand books. The platform has a user-friendly interface that makes it easy to search and access high-quality, peer-reviewed content. JSTOR also features advanced tools for research and discovery, including citation analysis and alerts for new content. It is a valuable resource for scholars, students, and researchers in the academic community.
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
Access to over 380 humanities and social sciences journals from over 60 scholarly publishers.
Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
This scholarly collection provides journal coverage for most academic areas of study, including biological sciences, economics, communications, computer sciences, engineering, language and linguistics, arts and literature, medical sciences and women's studies. This is an EBSCOHost database.
MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
The MLA International Bibliography consists of bibliographic records pertaining to literature, language, linguistics, and folklore, and includes coverage from 1926 to the present. The MLA International Bibliography provides access to scholarly research in over 3,000 journals and series.
Literature Resource Center This link opens in a new window
The Literature Resource Center is a complete literature reference database. Rich in biographical, bibliographical, and critical content, the Literature Resource Center contains information on literary figures from all time periods writing in such genres as fiction, nonfiction, poetry, drama, history, journalism, and more.
Literature Criticism Online This link opens in a new window
Find literary criticism and information on authors from several Gale resources.

University of Pittsburgh Library System

Course & Subject Guides

Romantic Literature - Pittsburgh Campus

Romanticism Related Journals

Literature Databases