PITTCat+is the gateway searching tool for all of the materials owned by the University Library system (ULS), including articles, books, e-books, journals, e-journals, e-audio and e-video, digital images, government documents, microfilm and movies.
This new edition of The Cambridge Companion to British Romanticism has been fully revised and updated and includes two wholly new essays, one on recent developments in the field, and one on the rapidly expanding publishing industry of this period. It also features a comprehensive chronology and a fully up-to-date guide to further reading. For the past decade and more the Companion has been a much-admired and widely-used account of the phenomenon of British Romanticism that has inspired students to look at Romantic literature from a variety of critical angles and approaches. In this new incarnation, the volume will continue to be a standard guide for students of Romantic literature and its contexts.
Scottish and Irish Romanticism is the first single-author book to address the main non-English Romanticisms of the British Isles. Murray Pittock begins by questioning the terms of his chosen title as he searches for a definition of Romanticism and for the meaning of 'national literature'. He proposes certain determining 'triggers' for the recognition of the presence of a national literature, and also deals with two major problems which are holding back the development of a new and broaderunderstanding of British Isles Romanticisms: the survival of outdated assumptions in ostensibly more modern paradigms, and a lack of understanding of the full range of dialogues and relationships across the literatures of these islands. The theorists whose works chiefly inform the book are Bakhtin, Fanon and Habermas, although they do not define its arguments, and an alertness to the ways in which other literary theories inform each other is present throughout the book.
Romanticism was a revolutionary intellectual and artistic movement which generated some of the most popular and influential texts in British and American literary history. This clear and engaging guide introduces the history, major writers and critical issues of this crucial era. This fully updated second edition includes: discussion of a broad range of writers including William Blake, Mary Wollstonecraft, William Wordsworth, Lord Byron, John Keats, Ralph Waldo Emerson, H.D. Thoreau, Frederick Douglas, a new chapter on American Romanticism Discussion of the romantic sublime or romantic imagination, and an engagement with critical debates such as postcolonialism, gender studies and ecocriticism.
Romanticism explores and challenges the central ideas of high Romanticism: the tragedy and gallantry of the individual's life journey, the appeal of revolution and violence, the beckoning forces of Nature, and the estrangement from but constant longing for God. Here is a powerful argument for the primacy of strong emotion.
This book is a wide-ranging collection of the key contextual documents which inform the Romantic period.nbsp; It includes material on fiercely debated areas such as the French Revolution, women, the slave trade, science and religion.nbsp; Documents are supported by substantial editorial material, drawing connections to the major Romantic texts.
This new edition of the groundbreaking Romanticism: An Anthology is the only book of its kind to contain complete texts of a wide range of Romantic works, including Blake's Songs of Innocence and of Experience, The Marriage of Heaven and Hell, and Urizen; Wordsworth and Coleridge's Lyrical Ballads (1798); Wordsworth's Two-Part Prelude; early and revised versions of Coleridge's 'The Eolian Harp', 'This Lime-Tree Bower my Prison', 'Frost at Midnight', and 'The Ancient Mariner'; Shelley's Prometheus Unbound, Epipsychidion and Adonais; Byron's Childe Harold's Pilgrimage Canto III and Don Juan Dedication and Cantos I and II; and Keats's Odes, the two Hyperions, Lamia, Isabella and The Eve of St Agnes. It also carries explanatory annotations and author headnotes. Includes all texts from the third edition, with the addition of Keats's Isabella and Shelley's Epipsychidion, as well as a selection of the poems of Walter Scott Includes a wider and deeper selection of texts by the Big Six male poets (Blake, Wordsworth, Coleridge, Keats, Byron and Shelley) than any competing volume. This text also includes a generous range of texts by female Romantic poets
The Romantics valued nature, spontaneity, visionary experience, powerful feeling, and the artist's individual response to the experience of life. Encyclopedia of Literary Romanticism provides a comprehensive A-to-Z guide to the Romantic movement, including such great writers as William Wordsworth, John Keats, and Mary Shelley. Entries in this new resource cover poets and novelists, literary works, historical and cultural topics, and more, ranging from the 18th-century precursors of the Romantics, such as Thomas Gray, to the six poets traditionally regarded as the chief Romantics, to mid-19th-century Victorians often regarded as late Romantics, such as Elizabeth Barrett Browning.