Finding Data - Political Science - Pittsburgh Campus - Guides at University of Pittsburgh

Major Data Sources

For those interested, we offer assistance with Research Data Management.

Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research (ICPSR)

ICPSR maintains a data archive of more than 500,000 files of research in the social sciences. It hosts 16 specialized collections of data in education, aging, criminal justice, substance abuse, terrorism, and other fields.
Creation of a Personal Account is required to access ICPSR features.

Registry of Research Data Repostories (re3data)
re3data.org is a global registry of research data repositories that covers research data repositories from different academic disciplines.

PAIS Index
Since its establishment in 1914, PAIS (Public Affairs Information Service) has chronicled issues in the public debate through highly selective coverage of a wide variety of sources. The PAIS Archive provides historical perspective on many of the 20th century's public and social policies.
Roper Center for Public Opinion Research (with iPOLL)
Roper iPoll is the largest collection of public opinion poll data with results from 1935 to the present. Roper iPoll contains nearly 800,000 questions and over 23,000 datasets from both U.S. and international polling firms. Surveys cover a range of topics.

Pew Research Center
Generates polls, reports & statistics covering global attitudes, politics, religion and social trends

American National Election Studies (ANES)
Primary source for public opinion on elections, political participation, characteristics of voters, and for whom they voted, 1948-2008. It also provides summary data on social, economic, partisanship, and public opinion, 1948 to present.
Comparative Study of Electoral Systems
CSES is a collaborative program of research among election study teams from around the world. Participating countries include a common module of survey questions in their post-election studies.
Cooperative Congressional Election Study (CCES)
The CCES is a 30,000+ person national stratified sample survey administered by YouGov Polimetrix. Half of the questionnaire consists of Common Content asked of all 30,000+ people, and half of the questionnaire consists of Team Content designed by each individual participating team and asked of a subset of 1,000 people.

The United States government produces a large amount of data. A list of agencies that compile statistics can be found here.

DATA.gov
An official web site of the U. S, Government contains over 378,500 raw data and geospatial datasets from over 180 agencies. The Data.gov site has an interactive platform which permits the user to search, filter, and explore before downloading and creating charts and maps.

Historical Statistics of the United States
Presents mainly US census data for the nation as a whole, such as immigration statistics by country of origin or mortality rates by disease, ranging back to the 1800s.
Statistical Abstract of the U.S. (ProQuest)

The Statistical Abstract of the United States is a one-volume, comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic organization of the United States. Use the Abstract as a convenient volume for statistical reference, and as a guide to sources of more information both in print and on the Web.
Social Explorer

Social Explorer is mainly an interactive map of demographic information drawn from the US Census. Users can examine geographic areas while selecting the type of data to be shown, such as population density or income level. Note: Creation of a Personal Account is required to fully access all Social Explorer features.

Correlates of War
Quantitative data project for topics in International Relations including militarized disputes, war, and territorial changes.

Cross National Time Series Data (CNTS) Archive
The archive has almost 200 variables and contains data for over 200 country units, with provision for entries from 1815 (excluding the two modern wartime periods, 1914-1918 and 1940-1945).
OECD iLibrary

OECD iLibrary is the online library of the Organisation for Economic Cooperation and Development (OECD) featuring its books, papers and statistics. The OECD consists of 30 member countries sharing a commitment to democratic government and the market economy. With active relationships with some 70 other countries, NGOs and civil society, it has a global reach. Best known for its publications and its statistics, its work covers economic and social issues.
UNdata

Find international statistics collected by the United Nations and related organizations.
World Bank Open Data

World Bank Open Data is the main access portal for global development data from the World Bank. Includes access to the World Development Indicators and time series.