This page highlights a select few of the important academic anthropology journals to which the University Library System subscribes. 

A great deal of journal full text is available online through platforms like AnthroSource (which contains publications of the American Anthropological Association) and JSTOR, which has collections for anthropology and archaeology. 

This page's section on Research Impact and Metrics provides an introduction to the measurement of the 'impact' of academic work produced by journals and scholars.

Full text of the complete run of this important journal is available online through JSTOR.

Published by the American Anthropological Association, full text of American Anthropologist is available online through Anthrosource.

Full text of the Journal of Human Evolution is available online through Science Direct extending back through 1993. 

A publication of Pitt's Department of Anthropology, full text of Ethnology is available online!

Research Impact and Metrics, sometimes referred to as Bibliometrics, refer to methods of measuring the impact of scholarly work by counting the number of times an article or journal has been cited by other scholarly work. This kind of measurement is performed in the Web of Science, which provides access to what was formerly known as Social Science Citation Index. Search results in this database include information as to the number of times each work has been cited, covering articles going back through 1992.

The Web of Knowledge Journal Citation Reports database, which includes an Anthropology category, provides a list of relevant journals along with statistics indicating how many times they have been cited.

For more information, see the Research Impact and Metrics guide.