Image and Video Resources - ENGCMP 0200: Seminar in Composition - Pittsburgh Campus

Digital Image Collections and Sites

Artstor This link opens in a new window
Artstor has collections of over 500,000 digital art images and associated data that can be used for noncommercial and scholarly, non-profit educational use. The images are drawn from different sources, such as museums, archaeological teams, photo archives, slide collections, and art reference publishers.
Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
This scholarly collection provides journal coverage for most academic areas of study, including biological sciences, economics, communications, computer sciences, engineering, language and linguistics, arts and literature, medical sciences and women's studies. This is an EBSCOHost database.
CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window
The CQ Researcher, founded in 1923 as Editorial Research Reports, is your complete source for in-depth, analytical reporting on the most current and controversial issues of the day. The objective, forward-looking reporting that characterizes these articles is designed to encourage discussion, to help readers think critically and to facilitate further research. Topics range from social and teen issues to environment, health, education and science and technology.

Streaming Video Databases

These are the key library databases that provide video. These databases also offer the playlist capabilities.

Academic Video Online This link opens in a new window
Academic Video Online allows users to cross-search all of the video published by Alexander Street Press. Virtually every video in the collection is fully transcribed in addition to being indexed for subjects, people, places, release date, language, publisher, and video type. NOTE: There are no restrictions on simultaneous users for Alexander Street Press Academic Video Online content. The vendor ProQuest advises that content can be shared on Zoom as long as you are not charging admission.
American History in Video This link opens in a new window
A collection of commercial and governmental newsreels, archival footage, public affairs footage, and important documentaries. This release now provides 4,848 titles equaling approximately 1,215 hours.
Education in Video This link opens in a new window
Education in Video is the first online collection of streaming video developed specifically for training and developing teachers. Upon completion, the collection will contain more than 1,000 video titles totaling 750 hours.
Music Online: Opera in Video This link opens in a new window
Opera in Video contains five hundred hours of opera performances, captured on video through staged productions, interviews, and documentaries.
Ethnographic Video Online This link opens in a new window
Intended to be a visual encyclopedia of human behavior and culture, online in streaming video. Contains classic and contemporary documentaries; previously unpublished footage from working anthropologists and ethnographers in the field; and select feature films. Includes footage from every continent and hundreds of unique cultures.
Theatre in Video This link opens in a new window
Contains hundreds of videos, including documentaries and definitive performances of the world’s most important plays. From celebrated productions of Shakespeare to rare, in-depth footage of the work of Samuel Beckett, the collection covers a wide range of 20th century theatre history. Interviews with directors, designers, writers, and actors, along with excerpts of live performances deliver an authentic, behind-the-scenes look at hundreds of productions.
Digital Theatre Plus This link opens in a new window
Provides online access to a digital streaming video collection of unique films of current, leading British theatre productions. Includes behind-the-scenes documentaries as well as teaching and learning resources to facilitate a deeper understanding of the productions and texts. Learning resources include a detailed introduction, plot summary, character biographies, a relationship map, language analysis, scene study, performance background and historical context for each play.

Users must have the latest version of Google Chrome to access.
Met Opera on Demand This link opens in a new window
Access to more than 600 full-length Met performances (The Metropolitan Opera of New York City).
Engineering Case Studies Online This link opens in a new window
Focuses on engineering successes and failures and can be used for projects, papers, and discussions that focus on ethics. At completion, the collection will contain 250 hours and 50,000 pages of quality documentaries, accident reports, experiments, visualizations, case studies, lectures and interviews from leading engineering institutions around the world.

Images Online

Google Images
Use the 'usage rights' field to find images for noncommercial purposes.
Creative Commons Search
Digital Public Library of America
Getty Images
LIFE photo archive hosted by Google
How to Spot Fake Stock Photos (and Attribute the Right Person)

Images Available from the ULS

The ULS D-Scribe digital collections include many image collections of maps, photography, and other forms of art. The collections range from the Audubon's Birds of America to Historic Pittsburgh to a Japanese wood block print collection.

Pittsburgh, circa 1804 -- Painted by George Beck

To find an image, click on the link below and, using a search term that describes the item you are looking for, refine by image.

ULS Collections
There are over 69 ULS collections that contain images.

University of Pittsburgh Library System

Course & Subject Guides

ENGCMP 0200: Seminar in Composition - Pittsburgh Campus

Citing Images

Digital Image Collections and Sites

Streaming Video Databases

Images Online

Images Available from the ULS